The Camera Never Lies: #fwf image prompt 07.02.14

fwf image prompt feb 7 2014

“If I’d known you were dropping by today, I would have cleaned up.” He looked down at his worn hands, dirty, broken fingernails, and ancient clothes. He had been resting against his cane, sighing from pain – mental or physical was hard to tell. He looked to be at least 250 years old, I knew he was only 95.

He started to apologize again, but I shook my head. “It’s okay, you didn’t know. I was . . .” I stopped. What was I doing here? Playing voyeur again? He had graciously allowed me to photograph him two summers ago when I was working on my faces project.

He had looked straight into the camera, haunted eyes like a hunted creature. But, the photograph betrayed another layer beneath the dirt and the stooped shoulders – a hunter, not just the hunted.

It was that subliminal/alternative image that had drawn me back. Back to the hills and his hobbit-hole like house. Back to his world, where I was given a small space of welcome.

Your hands,” I blurted, looking for a rational reason to return. “I’m photographing hands now.” Did he sense I knew there were two people in the same skin?

His empty-toothed smile seemed sincere enough; no wolf-fangs or blood-lust. “One for me?” he asked. I nodded; I’d made a print of our previous encounter.

With shaking hands, he pulled the picture close to his watery blue eyes. Pleased? I couldn’t tell; his grin never waivered.

As I adjusted the camera lens, he took up his position just outside the off-hinged door of his house. He crossed his hands over the head of his cane, wood as gnarled as his fingers.

Snap. Later, I discovered that his cane had become an axe. The camera never lies?

6 thoughts on “The Camera Never Lies: #fwf image prompt 07.02.14

  1. Colline February 9, 2014 / 11:07 am

    I like this – with the photograph telling a little of what the man was in his younger days.

    Like

    • phylor February 9, 2014 / 5:42 pm

      Thanks — I love your story of the wood cutter and the girl. I do hope there are more installments coming!

      Like

      • Colline February 9, 2014 / 6:06 pm

        I believe it is time I take one of my stories and finish it. :)
        It is very encouraging to have such positive comments on what I have written.

        Like

        • phylor February 10, 2014 / 12:04 pm

          I do hope you take the encouragement and use it to finish a story. The woodcutter and girl is wonderful, and I’m sure you have other stories to tell as well.

          Like

  2. phylor February 9, 2014 / 9:40 am

    I have a feeling you’re right! ( ;

    Like

  3. buildingalifeofhope February 8, 2014 / 6:20 pm

    Although it is clear that the photographer is narrating, I somehow think the old man is really telling the story!

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

