sunday photo Fiction: Riding the sunrise volcano

Sunrise coming through the clouds. Of course, in your fiction, it could be absolutely anything

She stood by the window, watching the sun explode out of the cloud volcano. Pure pulsing energy pushing skyward. Etching the deepest orange against the window, creating stain glass patterns, she felt the raw emotion of nature’s dark and light.

Always feardom of night; broken will and sweating by noises heard; visions conjured. Swept up by north winds and hunter’s moons. Lost in shadow forests. Caught in webs of nightmares.

Sunlight illuminated the darkness corners. Drove evil back into caverns. Created flowers and apples. Felt warm against night-cold skin. Revealed safe paths through the brambles.

She smiled her morning smile, pulling the orange aura into her soul. It felt sustained and glowing. With the sunrise came completeness. With the sunrise came life.  Alchemy of light magic cast aside the dark arts.

One more sunrise, and the distance was growing. Was this the moment, this the time she would explode upwards; sailing on the sea of streaked orange and grey, red and black. Reaching higher than the mountains. Touching the equinox sky.

{This is my first Sunday Photo Fiction (Thanks,Anja for guiding me here) }

 

 

13 thoughts on “sunday photo Fiction: Riding the sunrise volcano

    • phylor February 10, 2014 / 2:15 pm

      Thank you for the kind comment!

      Like

  1. Marla Russo February 10, 2014 / 9:44 am

    While orange and black are traditional Halloween colors, orange really pops with a medium blue . Red , yellow , and orange can be a fiery hot combination or, in tamer shades, a fresh, fruity experience. Make it tropical with green .

    Like

  2. Lyn February 10, 2014 / 12:27 am

    Welcome to Sunday Fiction, Phylor. I love the description, watching the sun explode out of the cloud volcano.

    Like

    • phylor February 10, 2014 / 12:01 pm

      Thank you! I like the idea of using a picture to prompt a short piece of prose (or poetry).

      Like

  3. Bianca E. Bonner February 9, 2014 / 11:15 pm

    I know the last one isn’t really a wildly exciting picture but I’ve tried to capture that light that I love – that warm, almost orange-y glow that reminds me of summer and of camping or being away in the van. There is a part of me that yearns for days gone by when the rising and setting of the sun would rule your day, out in the fields with the sun on your face and then retiring for supper and baths when the daylight faded. Nowadays in the winter I’ll often travel to work in the dark and watch the sun set from my office window. I’m so thankful I work so close to home and don’t have the hour commute back home in the dark to contend with anymore, it always felt so treacherous.

    Like

  4. Anja February 9, 2014 / 8:18 pm

    So happy to see you here!!!! This is a beautiful, touching piece. I love “Alchemy of light magic cast aside the dark arts.” Ahhhh just LOVED it.

    Like

    • phylor February 26, 2014 / 2:53 pm

      Oh my gosh! I realized today that I hadn’t replied to comments on several posts!
      Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. I know I owe you more than one reply!

      Like

  5. Al February 9, 2014 / 6:34 pm

    This is excellent. I loved the descriptiveness. Thank you for deciding to take part this week. I look forward to more if you decide to come back :-)

    Like

    • phylor February 10, 2014 / 12:03 pm

      Thank you — I do hope to come back next Sunday and give it another try. Some very kind words from this community on my first effort.

      Like

      • Al February 10, 2014 / 12:23 pm

        They are a good bunch ;-)

        Like

  6. Colline February 9, 2014 / 6:10 pm

    A beautiful description. I enjoyed reading this Phylor.

    Like

    • phylor February 10, 2014 / 12:03 pm

      Thank you — the image was a very powerful prompt!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

