50 years ago today, the band came to play

 

{To have be posted on the evening of Sunday, February 9, 2014}

I was allowed to stay up past my usual bedtime if Ed Sulliban (I had trouble pronouncing b and v) had Topo Gigio scheduled as one of his guests.

Television was still very much a novelty in our house. I vaguely remember the mouse puppet interacting with Ed; no conversation remains clearly archived in my childhood memory vault.

I don’t know if the mouse was part of the February 9, 1964 episode. But, if I close my eyes, I can still very clearly see the “fab four” performing on Ed’s show. For some reason, I can picture Ringo with more clarity than the others. Up past my bedtime watching history being made.

It is the second “forever” television image I have; a moment in music (and my) history frozen in a black and white freeze frame.

It was 50 years ago today that St. Pepper’s band came to play

I love dialogue. Do you?

