sunday photo fiction: moonrise

48 02 February 23rd 2014

Sunday photo fiction: 23.02.14

She’d been told to look; to look for the man on the moon. So with each moonrise, she climbed out of bed to sit at the window and stare up. If clouds scuttled across the stars, or storms blew in, she slept.

She expected he would look like grandfather, a bit bent and stooped from having to do all the work by himself. No-one ever mentioned a woman in the moon.

Or, maybe he would be a fine gentleman, sitting high on a horse, all lace, velvet and leather. Or, a knight, the glow of his polished armor creating the moonlight.

When the moon was a fingernail sliver in the sky, she thought she might see him dangling off the end, or slouched against the inside curve of the crescent.

Or when it was full, see her prince gallop, or her farmer plant seeds across the broad pale expanse.

Studying the waxing and the waning, she still could not see him; she couldn’t see a single, solitary person – man or woman – on the moon.

So, when at it’s fullest, the moon grins down at her; winking; keeping its secrets to itself.

6 thoughts on “sunday photo fiction: moonrise

  1. Lyn February 26, 2014 / 3:19 am

    Oh this was good! I like what you did with the prompt :-)

    Like

    • phylor February 26, 2014 / 9:08 am

      Thanks, Lyn. As a child, I never could find the old man in the moon!

      Like

  2. Al February 25, 2014 / 3:17 am

    I like that. The moon winking to her. Excellent

    Like

    • phylor February 25, 2014 / 1:18 pm

      Thanks! As a child, I really thought I should see a silhouette of a person — it did take a while for me to see the moon’s face wink, lol.

      Like

  3. dogkisses February 24, 2014 / 11:51 pm

    Beautiful!

    I was just reading about the Moon! And thinking about the Moon. Then, I found myself here.

    I wonder if the Moon has something to say, or maybe I should try to find her. The last time I saw her, she was altogether full! She glowed orange from the sunset. I did not however see a man, or a woman, only the grand Moon.

    Like

    • phylor February 25, 2014 / 1:19 pm

      Glad you found your way here. The moon definitely has magic. Perhaps you should see if the moon, like the mockingbird, has a message for you.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

