#fwf: fanciful things

waiting for the fire flies ball

When I was young

I believed in fanciful things

fairies in nannie’s garden

great-uncle’s dinosaur eggs

monsters under my bed

ghosts in my room’s closet

Now as an adult

I believe only in concrete things

childhood imagination

turned to truth

no fairies danced by moonlight 

rocks masqueraded as dinosaur eggs

no monsters or ghosts inhabited my bedroom

I wish I could still

believe in those fanciful things

for my world had colour then

 

Kellie Elmore’s free write friday prompt: Ponder this 3: I didn’t understand it then, but I understand it now  . . .

 

16 thoughts on “#fwf: fanciful things

  1. Colline March 16, 2014 / 10:19 am

    It is sad how we loose that innocence that children have. In losing that aspect of our childhood, I think we lose too that ability to enjoy our life with no holds barred.

    Like

    • phylor March 16, 2014 / 11:24 am

      That so true, and so sad, too. Children see the world through amazement and wonder; adults see the world through knowledge and experience.

      Like

  2. dorothychiotti March 16, 2014 / 7:51 am

    Exit one realm of magic, enter another. While the fantasies of childhood are a warm and distant memory I now take pleasure in the magic of the ancient things that give us pause to wonder. The great cathedrals, for instance. My imagination goes wild wondering how these magnificent edifices were built. … Thought provoking poem. I hope you never lose your sense of wonder. ;-)

    Like

    • phylor March 16, 2014 / 11:26 am

      I, too, am fascinated by the cathedrals. When I was in England, we visited one where the stone steps had been worn down by the feet of people for over a thousand years. I try to keep my sense of wonder and whimsy, but there are times when this is much harder to do.

      Like

  3. buildingalifeofhope March 15, 2014 / 3:08 pm

    I think it is those mystical beliefs that help me not to give up, give in and move forward!

    Like

    • phylor March 16, 2014 / 11:22 am

      I think we all need to believe in something mystical and magical. Without belief and whimsy, the world seems a much darker place.

      Like

  4. Tracesofthesoul March 15, 2014 / 4:23 am

    Ah but you have to believe in lepricauns and they are colourful. they’ll be jumping around all weekend. Im old enough to believe again:)

    Like

    • phylor March 15, 2014 / 7:04 am

      I’m still looking for that pot o’ gold at the end of the rainbow!

      Like

      • Tracesofthesoul March 15, 2014 / 3:30 pm

        Treasures come in very shapes andsizes…sometimes in moments of sheer joy.

        Like

        • phylor March 16, 2014 / 4:01 pm

          And, sometimes it takes a minute or two (or more) to realize what a treasure a moment, a friend, a rainbow, a leprechaun, a beach walk, a photograph is/can be.

          Like

          • Tracesofthesoul March 16, 2014 / 4:09 pm

            So very true…we must collect these moments for greyer times:)

            Like

  5. Kelly March 15, 2014 / 12:40 am

    I think we all hold on to a bit of our mystical beliefs and I wish it was more.

    Like

    • phylor March 15, 2014 / 7:05 am

      You’re right. And I think children help adults recapture some of those magical memories.

      Like

  6. michael March 14, 2014 / 7:53 pm

    all we lose in growing up … I have always loved the quote by C.S. Lewis, “Someday you’ll be old enough to believe in fairytales again.”

    Like

    • phylor March 14, 2014 / 10:52 pm

      That’s a great quote. We do lose the sense of the magical and the whimsical as we become adults. I like the Bob Dylan line “But I was so much older then, I’m younger than that now.”
      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

