What is a #HAWMC anyway?

I have trouble with commitment; these days I never seem to follow through with projects, challenges, ideas big or small.

#HAWMC is yet another attempt to commit and follow through; part of my emotional and mental healing process. It’s an acronym for Heath Activist Writers Month Challenge with prompts provided by WEGO Health.

Although I written more fiction and fact of late, and haven’t been posting about mental and physical health, it’s still in my tagline and in my life. My chronicness influences my prose and poetry.

I will no doubt miss days and begin to feel overwhelmed and stop. My goal is to complete the project even if I don’t produce 30 posts. I’ve already skipped #3: Keep Calm and Carry On. We were to go to the website: http://www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk  and create our own badge. Had I done it, I would have said: Keep Calm and Write On (or Blog On).

I’ve got the list of 30 prompts, and I’m trying to think ahead in terms of responses, and how to keep them short, punchy, and informative. I’ve been doing narrative/prose lately that is often overlong. I’m going to work on communicative, clear and concise (as I used to tell my students). Time to take my own advice!

 

 

6 thoughts on “What is a #HAWMC anyway?

  1. Colline April 6, 2014 / 10:37 am

    Maybe do the challenge at your own pace – even if it takes double the time. Thjat way you may not feel so pressurised.

    Like

    • phylor April 6, 2014 / 10:53 am

      Good advice, Colline. I have managed to write at least a draft a head for some prompts, and others don’t apply.
      You are right — completion is the goal!

      Like

  2. wendy April 5, 2014 / 10:05 am

    I agree…do what feels right for you. No guilt. No worries if you skip some days. I had planned to post every day this month…not this challenge, but every day. I’ve already missed 2…and it’s only the 5th!! I started to feel bad. and then thought of things I should say, things I should tell people about, and I get all bogged down in my mind. how do I write about today when I left off yesterday? How do I write about just what I want, instead of following up on what I complained about the day before?
    Ugh….I’m overwhelmed with life.
    Yet, I still feel useless. How can that be?

    just do what you can, and don’t be a wendy worrier. write what feels good.

    and Breathe.

    Like

    • phylor April 5, 2014 / 5:56 pm

      You sound like my yoga teacher — her mantra is breathe, breathe, breathe!
      I know the overwhelming feeling. I need to feel like I’m working toward commitment and structure. It’s part of my emotional healing process. To try and not get anxious and overwhelmed.
      Same advice to you — write when it feels right. People will read it whether you write every day or not!

      Like

  3. sunshine and chaos April 4, 2014 / 10:32 pm

    I’ve only done one HAWMC and when I did it I think I did a couple of posts a week. Just because something is for 30 or 31 days doesn’t mean you have to do all the prompts. I’ve done the one in November a couple of times and it did give me a feeling of accomplishment completing it. But, even with getting and starting the prompts early, it still takes a lot of time and energy and doing the last one really burnt me out.

    Do what feels right and good for you.

    Like

    • phylor April 5, 2014 / 5:53 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement and realities of completing the challenge. I came close once. I think I’ll do the ones that easily come to mind and that I can, for once, write up in a couple of paragraphs, lol.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

