#HAWMC 6 dinner party: Sure, I’m a Marxist

When I was living on the west coast, I shared a house with hubby and a good friend from high school. We used to play the dinner party game all the time, though we didn’t limit the number of guests.

Here’s my guest list. (I hope to post the menu later):

Groucho and Karl Marx (Sure, I’m a Marxist)

Jack Kerouac and JRR Tolkien (Road trips without gps)

Stan Rogers (Story teller through song)

I’m sure that from pre-dinner cocktails and appetizers through main course, and later dessert and coffee, the conversation will be lively, the stories told amazing, the laughter infectious, and we will part promising to do this again.

 

 

4 thoughts on “#HAWMC 6 dinner party: Sure, I’m a Marxist

  1. wendy April 6, 2014 / 7:29 pm

    I think you will laugh at me….I tried to read On the Road when I was way too young, and I had to stop, I kept thinking my gosh there sure is a lot of throwing up in this book!

    Now a guilty admission….I need to read it again. I’m ashamed to admit, I never tried after the first attempt and all the vomit.

    I do love your group, I can see some talking over the others….a grand experience that will end and you will have to look at the video (hopefully there is one) so you can finally understand what everyone was talking about. : )

    Like

    • phylor April 6, 2014 / 8:46 pm

      We read Camus in high school. I still can’t understand his work. And, I have trouble finishing a Kafka story because they make me so depressed.
      Funny, I don’t remember the vomit, just the thrill of the road.

      Like

  2. sunshine and chaos April 6, 2014 / 12:08 pm

    What a great group! Love that you have Stan Rogers. I think some of the best stories we can learn from are those by songwriters who are able to tell beautiful, emotional stories in just a few minutes.

    Like

    • phylor April 6, 2014 / 4:17 pm

      I totally agree. I think of song lyrics as narrative poetry and often remember the lyrics more than the music.
      Stan Rogers was a phenomenal story teller and it’s so sad he’s not still around making music and telling stories.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

