five minute friday: stained glass windows

Start

Stained glass windows paint the pews, walls and floors of the church. Figures central to the Story; images of saints; symbols of faith; sacrifice and strength; foundations of the church; and the lives of those whose bear special meaning to it’s community of followers.

As a child, in the simple country church, I often was more immersed in the windows, than the sermon. Each Sunday, the light would be slightly different. Each season, the glow shifted. Different pews presented new views.

Reflecting the church, these windows were not the glorious ones to be found in cathedrals, large urban churches, other faith communities. Each has it’s own majesty or simplicity.

I have found myself still drawn to these windows, entering churches to gaze at the patterns, the images, the stories told by the windows. Stories that illuminated faith from a time when few could read the words that inspired the glass makers.

Stop

6 thoughts on “five minute friday: stained glass windows

  1. Kesha April 11, 2014 / 11:38 am

    I enjoy your writings, they are all painted beautifully with words. I really appreciate the perspective of painting with light. :) Have a great day.

    Like

    • phylor April 11, 2014 / 12:36 pm

      Thank you Kesha. Those are very encouraging words. Hope you have a great day, too.

      Like

  2. Cassi April 11, 2014 / 9:07 am

    I love this I remember being more captured by the windows than the sermon too. OK that might have been a week ago :)

    Like

    • phylor April 11, 2014 / 9:50 am

      I have been know to wander to the window’s patterns as an adult, too.

      Like

  3. susan April 11, 2014 / 9:04 am

    I remember that… staring as the stained glass windows painted the floor and walls of the church. As a kid it was so much more interesting than the sermon. I’d forgotten. Thank you for the memory.

    Like

    • phylor April 11, 2014 / 9:49 am

      Your are welcome. I also remember my grandmother nudging me if I was looking too dreamily at the windows so I would listen to the minister.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

