#HAWMC 10: The envelop please . . .

“The Oscar for the best documentary goes to Chronic: A Day in the Life.”

“Accepting the award, Phylor.”

“Most folks get up here and thank a lot of people. The folks who helped me make this film happen, I hope, know how much I appreciate all their hard work, and how grateful I am that such a team was born.

I want to thank the chronic mental and/or physical health issues communities. They let me into their lives. I experienced the every day battle they face. As I have chronic mental and physical health issues, I learned from their exuberance, perseverance, and activism.

This Oscar really belongs to them. I could walk up here, stand in front of a crowd of thousands, give a speech and hold up the figurine. Many of the people I met could not do one or all of these things. They deal everyday with mental and/or physical health issues they don’t let define them. They are more than the chronic illnesses they have.

And to those who have a friend, family member, colleague, co-worker, neighbor with mental and/or physical health issues, please try to believe, to understand, to support, to encourage, to assist. Love, care and compassion makes such a difference in chronics’ lives.

And, Chronic: A Day in the Life is also a fund raiser. If you go to Chronic: A Day in the Life.com, you can not only learn more about chronic illness, making the film, the people and communities involved, but you can find out about, and hopefully donate to, the newly established Chronic: A Day in the Life Foundation to help chronics with the day to day necessities and comforts. Medication. Utilities. A health-safe living space. An accessible home. Work place and job modifications. Educational needs. Arrange vacations for folks with mental and/or physical health issues and their family/friends. Care-giver “breaks.” Disability lawyers.

The list is as long as the collective hearts of chronics. Their spirit, endurance, faith, and battles will continue to inspire me. This is your Oscar, not mine.”

 

I love dialogue. Do you?

