mlm’s Menagerie photo 4, inertia: the eider down bed

tm-front1
artist: Tom Bagshaw

The Eider Down Bed

She heard the whispers of tiny voices. If she tried, she could separate the gnomes from the fairies; the sprites from the imps; the animals from the flowers. But, she didn’t really feel like expending the mental energy.

If she opened her eyes, she knew she would see balloons and bubbles float by; watch butterflies dance the tango; peek at the hide and seek games in the tree branches above. But she was much too content to lay on the comfortable bed stuffed with the softest eider down and piled high with cushions for physical exertion.

She let her extended family place a crown of flowers upon her dark-haired head. If she breathed deeply, the perfume of the blooms would give away their names. But that moved her away from the comfort inertia she had adopted for the day.

12 thoughts on “mlm’s Menagerie photo 4, inertia: the eider down bed

  1. Bastet April 17, 2014 / 3:38 pm

    loved this strange magical aptmosphere under the eider down bed…very strange and cool.

    Like

    • phylor April 17, 2014 / 9:29 pm

      One of those times that I found it flowing — Mindlovemisery;s prompts tend to do this to me!

      Like

      • Bastet April 18, 2014 / 1:10 am

        They are well done, I agree!

        Like

        • phylor April 18, 2014 / 10:28 am

          Her prompts make my writing better.

          Like

          • Bastet April 18, 2014 / 11:56 pm

            They definately give me new directions!

            Like

  2. Tracesofthesoul April 16, 2014 / 9:40 pm

    Just lovely! Where do you get these images and words? Love it, especially the line: f she breathed deeply, the perfume of the blooms would give away their names. …perfect!

    Like

    • phylor April 16, 2014 / 9:59 pm

      Thanks! Mindlovemisery provides the image; she is always inventive and creative in the images she picks. The words sometime just jump to my fingers, sometimes a line will come into my head and I take it from there, and sometimes I really have to work at it, editing, re-editing. That’s why so many of my posts never get published, lol.

      Like

      • Tracesofthesoul April 16, 2014 / 11:14 pm

        I so hear you ! her photos are just so reaching deep into the soul…I sometimes have words jumbled in my brain but can’t seem to do the image or my thoughts justice…other times I surprise myself…this particular one…I have several thoughts bugging me…really bugging me…some I don’t wish to flirt…we shall see. But take the credit with your talent with words and imagination…you are always an interesting read.

        Like

        • phylor April 17, 2014 / 9:28 pm

          I look forward to reading your response!

          Like

          • phylor April 18, 2014 / 10:32 am

            As I said on your blog — what a wonderful story, an imaginative use of the image — we all see different things!
            I will never look at my stuffed animal collection quite the same after your story!

            Like

  3. mindlovemisery April 15, 2014 / 9:29 am

    This is delight/charming and you used the title I gave haha The photos often don’t have titles and so I make up something because I like having a title. I feel like the above today I am so tired

    Like

    • phylor April 15, 2014 / 4:07 pm

      I’ve been “inert” most of the day. Finally waking up, I hope!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

