#HAWMC 27: library

I have to confess. I don’t have one favourite book. I have a library in my head of those special books that stay with me. Books that tell me more of the story each time I read them. Books from every stage and phase of my life. My favourite book  yesterday; my favourite 30 years ago.

When I need comfort, reassurance, a mental hug, a familiar face, a challenge, emotional connections, a good laugh or a good cry, I go to my library and take the appropriate book off the shelf. (Or go to my town’s library to get the book off their shelf; there’s not room here for all the volumes, lol)

What follows is an eclectic collection of favourite books, Perhaps one or two are among your favourite books. This is a long list, but I’m sure I’ve forgotten to include books and authors.

Life-Altering

See Dick and Jane (first book I could read) (by William S. Gray and Zerna Sharp)

On the Road (Jack Kerouac)

Illusions (Richard Bach)

Fun (sometimes in a dark way)

The Once and Future King (T.H. White)

The World According to Garp (John Irving)

Alice Through the Looking Glass (Lewis Carroll)

Breakfast of Champions (Kurt Vonegut)

The Paper Bag Princess (Robert Munch)

Childhood

Little House on the Prairie (all the books in the series) (Laura Ingalls Wilder)

The Classics Comic Books (various authors/illustrators)

Little Engine that Could (Walty Piper)

Winnie the Pooh (all the books in the series) (A. A. Milne)

Green Eggs and Ham. (Dr. Seuss)

Influential

Amerika (Franz Kafka)

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (Ken Kesey)

A Christmas Carol (Charles Dickens)

The Hobbit (JJR Tolkien)

Blue Highways (William Least Heat Moon)

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance (Robert M. Pirsig)

Mystery (writers, not specific books)

Lillian Braun

Margret Maron

Imogen Robertson

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

J P Tracy

John Hillerman (and daughter)

Spiritual/Academic

Meetings with Remarkable Men (G.I. Gurdjieff )

Books on Religious History (all religions)

Books on Women’s History

Books on Social History

Books that combine the above history volumes

(suggestions of authors upon request)

Links to chronic pain/chronic illness/mental health disorders: distraction by reading/ re-reading; flawed characters; personal growth; interest in topic/favourite author; loose self (and emotional/physical pain; identification with author, story, genre.

Now back to On the Road, and Blue Highways.

 

One thought on “#HAWMC 27: library

  1. Colline April 27, 2014 / 9:56 am

    A a Tolkien fan I do admit to my preference for The Hobbit

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

