what’s next?

Still on a high from completing the month long challenge. And thinking about where my blog goes next.

The #HAWMC had me blogging about physical and emotional pain. While these influence my writing, I’ve been doing more literary than health-based writing. It feels like two blogs now – a health issue and a writer/writing. So, do I change it up, have my readers view 2 blogs, deciding which most fits their interests or reading frame of mind.

One decision I did come to was to write more flash fiction. My stories and posts can be very long, and it’s time I did what I told my students to do: be concise, clear, and communicative. While many flash fictions limit the words in the 100 to 200 range.

As this will be an experiment across several blogs and prompts, I will give myself a 300 word limit. I will try very hard to keep to this limit. I hope to still tell at story, just with less words and faster – writing and reading!

There are a couple of posts pretty much ready to publish that are longer than 300 words so I’ll let that those go by.

I’m also thinking of changing up how the blog looks – a different theme, etc. Guess it’s time (again) to look at all aspects of my blog and blogging.

If you want to let me know how you feel about splitting the blog in 2, suggestions for blog names, themes, and any other ideas you want to pass along, please start a conversation. Let’s have a dialogue.

Thanks. (word count: 266!)

7 thoughts on “what’s next?

  1. sunshine and chaos May 2, 2014 / 2:16 pm

    I suppose it depends how much you want to keep things separate and whether you want to do two blogs.

    I’ve thought about it every once in a while but what works for me is having the name of the post start the same like Sunday Quotes or Why The Hell Not.

    Maybe keep this blog for the time being. If you find you are doing more writing, then consider starting a 2nd blog and posting a link here to take your readers here to the 2nd blog.

    Changing the blog every once in awhile always helps with me. I know they have themes for writers though don’t know how many are free. Check that out to see if there is something you like.

    Like

    • phylor May 2, 2014 / 10:47 pm

      Thanks for the suggestions. I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who wonders if there are two blogs in one!
      Good suggestions — I’ll see what transpires over the next little while.
      Changing things up can lead to new creative endeavours!

      Like

    • phylor May 2, 2014 / 10:48 pm

      Thanks — there are so many great writing prompts, and yet there are still aspects of my mental and physical health that need expressing. I’ll see where the inspire takes me!

      Like

  2. CuriositytotheMax May 1, 2014 / 5:43 pm

    I’ve been exploring exactly the same thing – blogs grow and change as we grow and change . . .
    I love the “flash” concept

    Not a FLASH in the Pan
    Hot Flashes
    Flash of Inspiration
    Phylor Phlash

    or just like you said “Flash Fiction”
    “Phylor’s Blog” has a following so maybe leave well enough alone?

    I’ll be following to see what you do!

    Like

    • phylor May 2, 2014 / 10:50 pm

      I like phylor phlash! Glad you will be around as I think my way to a decision.
      I’m behind on my year of the fairy tale posts. I see you are working on wolves and little red riding hood.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

