mindlovemisery’s menagerie war paint: tattoo it on my heart

 

chiarafersinis2

artist: Chiara Fersinis

She wanted to design the tat this time. Not that he’d done a bad job with the primroses blooming across her back. But that was his image, his illusion as to who she was.

With him out of her life, she needed something that truly spoke of her soul, her spirit. Not some idealized version of self. Not who she was as seen through other’s eyes.

Designing was more difficult than she thought. As an artist, she turned the still, silent world of the canvas into a cacophony of colours and voices. Her voice was always there, muted in the background.

But a personally-designed tattoo was different. She couldn’t be muted and in the shadows. She had to be the main character in an one act, one person play.

War paint. Yes, that was right.War against personal demons. Wars to survive. Wars to stay sane. Wars fought for others. Wars for justice. Wars for equality. Wars for hope.

She smiled as she flipped to a blank page in her sketch book, and fetched a blank canvas from the pile leaning against the wall. War paint. We are all warriors she thought, picking up her paint brush. We all fight wars.

7 thoughts on “mindlovemisery’s menagerie war paint: tattoo it on my heart

  1. nessa1313 May 14, 2014 / 10:00 am

    I designed the tattoo I got for my 50th birthday and it was like getting war paint. Great analogy.

    Like

    • phylor May 14, 2014 / 12:26 pm

      That’s great — we are all warriors in one way or another so we should wear war paint of our own design!

      Like

  2. mindlovemisery May 14, 2014 / 2:55 am

    I love the concept the designing of the tattoo. I have been wondering what those flowers are I can’t quite decide to be honest haha

    Like

    • phylor May 14, 2014 / 8:23 am

      The flowers remind me of primroses, but I am far from an expert on things botanical.
      The tattoo and title did give me some ideas. That, and all the (un)reality tv shows here that feature tattoo artists, lol.

      Like

      • mindlovemisery May 14, 2014 / 9:23 am

        haha I am terrible with plants I have a thumb of the soon-to-be-deceased or something

        Like

    • phylor May 14, 2014 / 8:26 am

      Thanks, Melanie! All the (un)reality tats tv shows were part of the inspiration.
      And, I always thought cacophony shouldn’t be restricted to sound; it brings an image to colour, space, and time.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

