#fmf close: doors

Should I close the door. Demarcate the world we once shared into two spaces.

You turned your back when I asked “Why?” You wouldn’t or couldn’t answer me.

It couldn’t have been to protect my feelings. You had already ripped out my heart.

So, I stand here, hand on door know, wondering why. Knowing the answer but afraid to voice it.

Why does love die? Why can promises of forever be shattered and scattered on the kitchen floor?

Does this tarnish all we have done together? Does it take away the spirit of us?

I remember walks on beaches. Bouquets of flowers. Smiles and laughter.

I start to push on the door knob. To make my own world.

But then I remember the power of love at first sight.

I leave the door open and hope.

9 thoughts on “#fmf close: doors

  1. wendy May 28, 2014 / 8:00 pm

    a hard decision to make.
    often it is made for us.
    but where there is hope…..and an open door that works…..
    the possibilities are endless.

    wonderful writing. brings back many crossroads.

    Like

    • phylor May 29, 2014 / 5:39 am

      An open door displays optimism — I agree. A closed door makes it more difficult. But, with inner strength and a strong spirit, even locked doors can be opened from the outside and the inside.

      Like

  2. stephanie May 24, 2014 / 1:30 am

    love this poetry. and i so understand this place. it’s a hard, stretching place to be.

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2014 / 12:47 pm

      Thank you. We find ourselves in many places during our lives. Some places are better than others. Those are the places sometimes we have to try very hard to get free of.

      Like

  3. adaynasmile May 24, 2014 / 12:15 am

    I hope that you continue to hold on to that hope and that you are able to find that love again!

    Like

    • phylor May 25, 2014 / 12:46 pm

      I think leaving the door open is the right choice. When it seems like love has been lost, I think it can be found again if both people in the relationship are willing to do the “work” it might take to bring love back.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

