Tale Weaver 10: Time Travel on Thursday can be Inconvenient

“Oh, great,” I thought. “Just what I needed.”

It had been a Thursday in a very bad week. I’d left the data sets to the last minute. I intended to shut myself away, work feverishly, and miraculously hand out fantastic copies of my report at the Friday meeting. Didn’t look like I’d meet any deadlines. In fact, I probably wouldn’t be at the meeting (thankfully).

Being caught in time’s slipstream was a giant rollercoaster ride. A rush. A “2001” experience. Employed again, it was an inconvenience. No forewarning. No sense of how much time was unraveling from 2014. Most people asked the clock time. I had to ask the calendar time.

2018. My clothes looked retro, just a little out of date. Four years was just a gentle lapping of the incoming tide of time. The big waves crashed me against the shores of another century.

Needed to catch up on language, the world’s socioeconomics, political geography and technology. No telling how long I’d be in 2018.

People seemed to have personal GPS and data stream displays. People walked with heads up and thumbs down. Could be dangerous landing in the same space. But I knew the “old” neighborhood. If the Apple store was still around the corner, I could get my own GPS and personal screen. Luckily, my Visa card wasn’t out of date. Now to find out if I had an antique or could expect a strange credit card statement for May.

{Phylor’s phlash phiction: 275 words}

“Everything in the universe has a rhythm, everything dances.”

Good-bye Maya Angelou. May your spirit continue the dance.

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Tale Weaver 10: Time Travel on Thursday can be Inconvenient

  1. Bastet May 31, 2014 / 5:42 am

    This is pretty scary, in the sense that it’s a little too close to real to suit me…but beautifully and convincingly written. Great job done here!

    Like

    • phylor May 31, 2014 / 5:44 am

      Thanks! There are times I feel like I “blink out” into somewhere else if only for a second. Time travel has always fascinated me and as a child, I wrote stories about it.

      Like

      • Bastet May 31, 2014 / 5:57 am

        I know what you mean about the fascination of time travel.

        Like

    • phylor May 30, 2014 / 4:07 am

      Thanks!
      I don’t think I’d like waking up in 2014 and by lunch be in 1914!

      Like

        • phylor May 30, 2014 / 4:19 am

          I’ve been watching shows about ww1, and I guess that’s why that date popped up. The world changed so much after that war.

          Like

  2. summerstommy2 May 29, 2014 / 8:24 pm

    Great take on the prompt and a scary view of the future. Well done enjoyed your take.

    Like

    • phylor May 30, 2014 / 4:08 am

      Thanks. Your story is scary-good! That’s what so great about these prompts — the range of responses!

      Like

  3. Oloriel May 29, 2014 / 10:33 am

    Lovely story, but for me personaly, it would be a nightmare walking on those streets!

    Like

    • phylor May 29, 2014 / 11:05 am

      I think it would be disorienting. I’ve returned to old haunts and neighborhoods, and gotten lost because the street geography had changed that much.

      Like

      • Oloriel May 29, 2014 / 11:10 am

        besides atrocious architecture in my eyes (those buildings entirely made out of glass,standing next to beautiful victorian households in my city for example), what scares me most is becoming an Apple Borg.

        Like

        • phylor May 30, 2014 / 4:10 am

          People are so hooked on iphones/androids, I can see why you’d worry about Apple Borg. Already there are glasses that display the screen in front of your eyes! Google has build a car that doesn’t need a driver.
          There may be a day when the I in iPhone is I (as in self)phone. Scary thought!

          Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

