mindlovemisery’s menagerie prompt 59 favourites: Beaker “Indubitably”

I thought a lot about what I would write. I have favourites in so many categories, some silly, some profound.

Then recent car ads with the Muppets solved the problem.

Beaker (Muppet).jpg

My favourite Muppet: Beaker

When Dr. Bunsen Honeydew was describing a experiment, a scientific something, Beaker said everything by saying nothing. The expression on his usually solemn, slighted scared face told the tale. And, as lab assistant and “human” test subject for Dr. Honeydew, he has every right to look scared!

He made a high pitched me me or meep sound. He never actually spoke until, in one of the Muppet movies, he responded to Dr. Honeydew, saying “Indubitably”.

I’m not up to date on my Muppet movies and specials. I missed a few, and the last one I saw was a Muppet Christmas Carol. (Michael Caine as Scrooge – one of his best roles!) So he may have spoken since.*

In one of these ads, he is happily (for Beaker) singing along with other Muppets. And, although I haven’t quite caught yet what he says, he does speak in one version!

In all things Muppetish, I have a Kermit (from when he was still really Kermit) tucked away with other stuffed creatures (but don’t tell them they are full of fluff, beads, and nonsense).

I carry around my Beaker, 5 and 1/2 inches tall including the shock of red hair. If my camera worked, I’d take his picture. At the thought, he has rolled his eyes and looks scared, perturbed, and very Beakerish.

* research at Wikipedia indicates, he had a prominent singing career.

One thought on “mindlovemisery’s menagerie prompt 59 favourites: Beaker “Indubitably”

I love dialogue. Do you?

