#fmf messenger: if you hold your life and listen

GO

I think we each have our own personal messenger sent to help us understand the world, our role and place in it.

Sometimes the messenger provides an easily solvable puzzle: your car stops working right outside the campus of a university that specializes in older students; a giant sale on donated designer baby and children clothes and instead of picking up dresses for your nieces, you end up at the cash with clothes for a baby boy.

Other times the messenger uses subtle methods. The way the light from a prism shimmers on the wall, the intricate nature of a snowflake, the delicacy of a monarch butterfly on milkweed. You are left to decode the message, tease out it’s meaning, close your eyes and see your world as the messenger does.

The messenger may seem pass us by, leaving only a trace, the slight smell of nutmeg after Christmas baking; the wisp of a cloud in a clear blue sky.

Open your mind and your heart, and you will hear your messenger whisper or shout. Your own personal messenger. Your guide. Your faith.

STOP

9 thoughts on “#fmf messenger: if you hold your life and listen

  1. buildingalifeofhope June 14, 2014 / 8:45 pm

    Mindfulness is something I practice every day now. Amazing feelings spring forth when paying attention to the universe. Keeps me calm…

    Like

    • phylor June 14, 2014 / 9:22 pm

      I try and be in the moment, and letting everything that is wrong, bad, sad go while I do yogic breathing.
      You are so right about mindfulness and the universe.

      Like

  2. dogkisses June 13, 2014 / 8:24 am

    I used to believe in things. I’ve become skeptical, I guess, but I wouldn’t say jaded (unsure where that word comes from), and maybe not cynical, but some of the latter.

    I always think of our boy, Tiny, when I see the light in a certain way. Each walk I’ve taken in the early evenings for the past ten days or so, the Great Blue Heron has flown over, almost low enough that I could feel the air from the movement of the bird’s wings.

    Then of course, there is a neighbor who has an attitude that reminds me of a teacher scraping her nails across the board. I don’t know what the message is for me, if there is one, but the only one I can think of is to stay strong and alert. Otherwise, she could eat up my spirit.

    Great post, Phy.

    Peace and Love,
    Michelle.

    Like

    • phylor June 13, 2014 / 9:32 am

      That’s the wonderful thing about messages and messengers. They come from your own sense of spiritualty, faith, belief.
      You’re not jaded and cynical — it’s the way you deal with the world. Maybe buried in the pain, the unfilled dreams and hopes, there is a message waiting until you are ready to hear, see, understand.
      I hope there is a messenger for you with sun after rain positive, butterfly delicate, and prism shiny messages of hope and goodness to come your way. You are a good person who deserves a messenger with a smile.

      Like

      • phylor June 14, 2014 / 8:22 pm

        Perhaps the blue heron is your messenger. See what she/he has to say.

        Like

  3. jenpcv June 13, 2014 / 7:26 am

    It’s so easy to miss these messages, but sometimes, they are perfectly timed and wonderfully delivered. If we keep our eyes open and pay attention!

    Stopping over from FMF. :)

    Like

    • phylor June 13, 2014 / 9:35 am

      I agree! I think we get so wrapped up in our lives, that we forget to sit still long enough to hear and understand our messenger’s voice.
      As you say, we need to pay attention so we are aware of those perfectly timed and wonderfully delivered messages.

      Like

  4. Cathy Z. Peek June 13, 2014 / 5:30 am

    You are so right. Nothing just happens. God our Messenger takes care of us. I enjoyed connecting from FMF.

    Like

    • phylor June 13, 2014 / 9:38 am

      We need to put our lives on hold, sit stilly, deeply breathing in and out to hear our messenger and his important and special messages.
      I agree, nothing just happens.
      Glad you dropped by!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

