fairy tale friday #14: The lamp

wish.jpg

The lamp. Clearing out the attic was both a treasure hunt and a reliving of my childhood.

I heard childish laughter. Debate over if it was your turn to be lamp-rubber or genie. Perfecting our genie voice. Practicing our three wishes. Before adulthood, before we knew how important those three wishes could be.

With dust motes dancing in the filtered light, I sat cross-legged on the floor. I gently rubbed the grimy lamp three times.

After the third rub, the lamp came to life. It vibrated and hummed. My hands felt wrapped in electric current. As I placed it on the floor, a thin tendril of smoke rose from the spout. The smoke began to take shape.

“At your service.”

4 thoughts on “fairy tale friday #14: The lamp

  1. phylor June 29, 2014 / 12:58 am

    Can’t get the image and voice of Robin Williams in the Disney animated movie out of my head. So it’s hard to imagine what this particular genie’s quirks might be. He could want Jeopardy style questions, be more stoic and less over the top, he might be a substitute genie while the real genie is away on a rejuvenating spa vacation. Perhaps someday I’ll post the post-genie experience.

    Like

  2. Bastet June 28, 2014 / 2:40 am

    Great Phylor!!! Lovely twist to end of this great flash fiction … my compliments!

    Like

  3. phylor June 27, 2014 / 9:21 pm

    I just hope I came up with the right 3 questions!

    Like

  4. summerstommy2 June 27, 2014 / 7:41 pm

    Wouldn’t that be the coolest thing to have happen. Of course one must ask what happened next?

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

