#fmf: lost

Numb. My life crumbled around me. Throbbing tears. Heart-breaking anger.

In less than a minute, I had lost everything.

Blasted trees not yet finished blooming. Pile of twisted wood had been a house.

Rain-specked photographs. Books with bindings torn off. Flattened furniture.

Lost. Everything I possessed ruined. Everything I worked so hard for swept away.

Then I heard a woman wailing, “I had her in my lap. I held her in my lap. Where is she?” Her family gently kept her from returning again and again to the empty spot once a happy, love-filled, family home.

She lost immeasurably more in her world, then I had in mine.

Inside my soul, a voice said “There is so much grief. Help to dry the tears.”

I turned away from my former life, and started towards my new.

13 thoughts on “#fmf: lost

  1. Bastet June 29, 2014 / 2:20 pm

    A powerful write … which I read after your “Buried Ashes” which I suspect as being the” follow up” of this piece. I found the profound sense of relativity, the empathetic realization which moved the protagonist’s direction outside of the self was beatiful and fundamental to a deeper understanding of life. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • phylor July 1, 2014 / 3:19 am

      I guess I have the idea of loss in my head, and when the five minute prompt was lost, it all kinda fit together, though not intentionally. Think of your comments, I realized there was a story arc I hadn’t seen!

      Like

      • Bastet July 1, 2014 / 5:55 am

        Cool … I thought you’d done it intentionally, this is a very interesting prompt, which I’ve never tried.

        Like

        • phylor July 2, 2014 / 9:10 am

          It’s an interesting experience. Five minutes to write on a word. And, you have to comment on the person who posted their response just ahead of you.
          Many of those who participate have strong faiths. I write more to the in between based on my own sense of spirituality with a consciousness of the world view of strong believers.

          Like

          • Bastet July 2, 2014 / 1:17 pm

            Hmmm … don’t know how I’d weather that, but might be interesting to try.

            Like

        • phylor July 2, 2014 / 4:46 pm

          There are some intentional story arcs as I have some stories I’m telling in pieces over time (and not necessarily in the final order)

          Like

          • Bastet July 3, 2014 / 1:22 am

            That’s interesting … like the idea of story arcs!

            Like

  2. Helen June 28, 2014 / 7:17 pm

    So very powerful. Thank you for sharing xx

    Like

    • phylor June 28, 2014 / 7:49 pm

      Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  3. gibsongirl247 June 27, 2014 / 9:36 pm

    Oh, wow….that was powerful. And a wonderful example of perspective about what is truly important. Although I have never lost possessions to a natural disaster, and cannot imagine how difficult that would be, I have lost a husband to a terminal disease. That was my perspective changer. Thank you so much for your post today…..may God greatly bless you as you journey into your new life.

    Like

    • phylor June 27, 2014 / 9:47 pm

      I am sorry that you lost your husband. Sometimes it is loss, that makes us take another look at ourselves and our spirituality. Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

