#fwf image prompt: buried ashes

campfire

I threw the last of them on the fire. Multi-hued flames burned brightly against the moonless sky. Ash swirled on the hot up-draft.

Done. Finished. Gone. The former me. The old me. The used-to-be-me me. Soon to be a nothing. Consumed in the flames. Buried. Hidden away forever. No marker for the spot I died.

The place of my rebirth. The new me. The no-baggage me. The start-over me.

Smiling, I popped the cork on the chilled champagne, it’s power kept underneath a towel. Pulled a chilled glass from the same cooler.

A drink to the old. A wake. A drink to the new. A christening.

I was still sitting by the fire as dawn streaked the sky. Flames now tiny licks, smoke just a wisp.

I poured the melted ice from the cooler over what remained. Hissing. Steam. Finished the last splash of champagne waiting for it to cool. Buried the ashes. Scattered sand.

Walked back with the sea splashing my ankles. No footprints. Old or new.

 

17 thoughts on “#fwf image prompt: buried ashes

  1. Colline July 2, 2014 / 8:20 am

    I like the sense of a new beginning and that the fire has been a cleansing agent.

    Like

    • phylor July 2, 2014 / 9:14 am

      Thank you. As I try to move beyond my past, I look for symbols to express that action. Fire is a cleansing agent as you point out. I hadn’t thought of it in quite those terms, but it does work well.

      Like

      • Colline July 2, 2014 / 9:19 am

        As I read the piece I actually imagined you tossing bits of your past into the fire.

        Like

  2. Bastet June 29, 2014 / 2:13 pm

    A cathartic ritual, both burning the old and toasting the new … this is a wonderfully poetic piece of prose, and I enjoyed the imagery very much

    Like

    • phylor July 1, 2014 / 3:21 am

      Thank you. I had the adages burning your bridges and the phoenix rising from the ashes in mind.
      I’ve always wished I could pull off something like that — get rid of all the old stuff that weights so much and become new and light.

      Like

      • Bastet July 1, 2014 / 5:56 am

        A wonderful idea I could readily adhere to! The piece was beautiful.

        Like

        • phylor July 2, 2014 / 9:11 am

          Thank you. I’m trying to emotionally/mentally leave the hurt and the pull of the past behind. I try to find symbolic ways to express this, but I still have a long way to go.

          Like

          • Bastet July 2, 2014 / 1:20 pm

            A difficult voyage but from where I stand I think your doing well, this is a splendid write.

            Like

  3. Kellie Elmore June 28, 2014 / 3:46 pm

    Reminds me of a night when I burned an old journal. What a release that was! You have inspired my pen and that is a wonderful gift. Thank you so very much. Always a pleasure to have you join us. xox

    Like

    • phylor June 28, 2014 / 7:51 pm

      Thanks for the kind words. It is freeing to let go of something. The act of burning makes it feel real and final.
      It’s always been a pleasure to #fwf!

      Like

        • phylor June 28, 2014 / 7:58 pm

          Oh, thank you. I feel honored. I’m off to your post!

          Like

  4. Rick Daddario June 28, 2014 / 11:14 am

    aloha Phylor. i like the use of the fire as symbolic of transition. passing and entering. a great moment to celebrate. cool. aloha.

    Like

    • phylor June 28, 2014 / 7:59 pm

      Thinking of the old sayings of burn your bridges and the phoenix rises out of the ashes.

      Like

  5. Suzanne June 28, 2014 / 2:35 am

    what a delicious sense of freedom your words create – how wonderful to leave no footprints. :)

    Like

    • phylor June 28, 2014 / 8:00 pm

      Won’t it be freeing to be able to leave no footprints. No permanent record of our goings and comings. Each walk would start the world anew!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

