Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver’s prompt 15: wailing Saxophone

Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Tale Weaver’s Prompt 15

Wailing Saxophone

It looked like any of the worn down buildings on the worn down street. Windows streaked and grimy; garbage piled up on the curb.

Every trip past, I swore I heard a saxophone wailing. Music and emotions coming from deep inside the soul and the store front.

I was curious. What had rooted in this desolate place where  patchy grass and weeds were lawns and gardens.

The door wasn’t locked as if there was nothing to steal but the music itself. Echoing around me, reverberating against sagging walls and broken floor boards.

That’s when I realized. The building was the saxophone. The building was the music.

And should a developer wish to re-gentrify the street, I would be the one chained to the store front, daring the destroyers to take me with the building. We had become as one.

7 thoughts on “Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver’s prompt 15: wailing Saxophone

  1. eclecticoddsnsods July 4, 2014 / 4:39 pm

    Interesting story and I’m sure there’s a film I saw years back about something so similar x

    Like

    • phylor July 5, 2014 / 5:27 pm

      Wouldn’t surprise me if there was a film. My stories come out of my imagination which is fueled by other stories, movies, conversations, observations. Things get “stuck” like Velcro or burrs to my imagination; I’m a recycler to be sure!

      Like

        • phylor July 7, 2014 / 9:12 pm

          Oh it is very untamable! I’ve had it for years, but I still don’t always catch up with it, lol!

          Like

  2. Oloriel July 4, 2014 / 4:34 pm

    Very interesting story. It reminded me a lot of those moments when we hear a song and it somehow fuses wth out whole being and that 1 song will forever be with us.

    Like

    • phylor July 5, 2014 / 5:28 pm

      I know the feeling — there are songs that years later still seem to capture my essence, and there is that 1 song that will always be with me. It’s an anthem to hope and dreams, at least.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

