we drink because we’re poets Bastets flash fiction for 4 July: Sanctuary

(c) Jen from Blog it or Lose it!

photograph provided by: © Jen from Blog it or Lose

Bastet’s Friday Flash Fiction Challenge 4 July 2014: Sanctuary

Sanctuary. The cool, dimness, after the heat and moving masses of the street soothed me, cleansed me like a shower.

As my eyes adjusted, I soaked up the breath-taking mosaic interior of the building.

Patterns repeated: stylistic plants and flowers; deep blue night sky with a thousand stars. 

Artistry as an expression of spirituality from a time when buildings were created with reverence.

Paul had been right. I wouldn’t appreciate the city or begin to understand it’s rich culture until I had ventured to these places.

The indicated carved doors opened, streaming light and a tour group into the quietness. “Began in . . . yes, lunch is next . . . Yes, there will be familiar food. . . a classic example . . . yes, after that we will visit the bazaar. 

I silently slipped out the door; somehow the street didn’t seem too hot or crowded.

17 thoughts on “we drink because we’re poets Bastets flash fiction for 4 July: Sanctuary

  1. Andrew Geary July 8, 2014 / 2:08 pm

    The tour guide’s dialogue and the last sentence are pretty good.

    Like

    • phylor July 8, 2014 / 2:33 pm

      Thanks! I like critique — it helps me improve on the page what my imagination stirs up!

      Like

  2. dogkisses July 5, 2014 / 1:23 am

    Nice post! I like the rhythm, was lost in imagination for a moment, and then right back with you on that street.

    Like

    • phylor July 5, 2014 / 5:32 pm

      Thanks Michelle! I always wonder if folks get as caught up in my imagination as I do, lol.
      Did Hurricane Arthur cause any flooding problems? I hope not!

      Like

      • dogkisses July 5, 2014 / 8:26 pm

        Well, your imagination is fun :)

        No, Arthur didn’t cause any weather here. I had wanted a little rain, but no floods! I think a beach town was hit, but am not sure about damage. Thanks for asking.

        Like

        • phylor July 7, 2014 / 9:14 pm

          Glad to hear no flooding! Hope the wilderness continues to come into your yard.

          Like

          • dogkisses July 8, 2014 / 1:09 am

            Thanks, Phylor. I’m sure it will! A new deer came today.

            I hope you continue writing with your imagination! You are an excellent writer.

            Hugs to you,
            Love, Michelle.

            Like

            • phylor July 8, 2014 / 2:36 pm

              Thanks for the kind words, Michelle. Your camera and your words are very expressive and beautiful to read and look at!
              Write when you can, take pictures when you can. Your posts are always a delight (of course if it’s not a “happy” post, I wouldn’t be delighted, lol.

              Like

  3. Bastet July 4, 2014 / 11:14 pm

    Lovely! I like how you moved in this story, the sanctuary from everyday city life into calmer spiritual aspects which gives us contact with ourselves … Paul was right … these places are essential. Beautfiul write!

    Liked by 1 person

    • phylor July 5, 2014 / 5:32 pm

      Thanks!
      I could use a Paul in my life!

      Like

      • Bastet July 6, 2014 / 1:00 am

        Couldn’t we all…and you’re welcome!

        Like

  4. Colline July 4, 2014 / 8:28 pm

    Love this piece. The tour guide must have been frustrated with questions on lunch when in front of awe-inspiring beauty.

    Like

    • phylor July 5, 2014 / 5:36 pm

      I was a “walk-on” guide on bus tours for a summer or two, providing local history, geography, flora and fauna etc. I always got asked those kinds of questions, lol. And, when the landscape spread out beneath us in 180 degrees, more interested in local crafty stores that the magnificent view. Sigh.

      Like

  5. eclecticoddsnsods July 4, 2014 / 2:39 pm

    I thought it was all great but the sentence ending in reverence fantastic z

    Like

    • phylor July 4, 2014 / 3:04 pm

      Thanks for the input! I appreciate you letting me know what works and what doesn’t. It helps me improve my writing.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

