mindlovemisery’s menagerie fairy tale friday 15: is it magic?

Magic_3_by_Ameliy

Is it Magic?

“Is it magic?,” my sister would ask, holding up her hand to show me beach glass,  wildflowers, pine cones, pennies, bird feathers, chandelier droplets, whatever she had found.

I would peer at it, then pronounce “Could be.” Enough of an endorsement, she placed the treasure in my old cloth purse.

Each piece of potential magic was lovingly kept in her room. She pressed the flowers, organized the beach glass by color and filled small, wide-mouth vases with the prettiest and most magical stones.

I secretly created a book full of photographs, drawings, maps, flash fiction fairy tales, with lots of blank pages so she could add magic of her own. She clutched “Is This Book Magic?”, teary-eyed as I left to see the world.

I cleaned out her apartment, a tiny attic space in an old Victorian house. I left the bedroom/office for last. Her most personal things were there. Chipped charity shop plates with colorful stones, framed pressed flowers and plants. Time and illness hadn’t changed her.

There was still her hospital suitcase to empty. I found “Is This Book Magic?” on top of her clothes, folded open to a page of her poems. She had filled the blank pages with her own words and pictures. Notated the maps, written marginalia. Pages worn from years use.

I closed the book. Under the title on the cover, she had written, “Yes, it is.”

 

 

11 thoughts on “mindlovemisery’s menagerie fairy tale friday 15: is it magic?

  1. eezna July 8, 2014 / 6:17 pm

    Is there is a sequel to this story…I want to know what happens next :)
    I am trying to figure out your real name…good suspense but I’m not too good at that. My name is an anagram of my real one too.lol

    Like

    • phylor July 9, 2014 / 1:49 pm

      My is a conglomeration of my names. That’s why I was surprised to discover there is at least one more Phylor out there, and she is not at all like me.
      I’m not good at anagrams, so you name will remain a mystery!

      Like

      • eezna July 9, 2014 / 6:17 pm

        My will be a mystery as is yours. Lol

        Like

  2. summerstommy2 July 7, 2014 / 6:34 am

    This is a lovely tale and you have created a great sense of mystery about the book. Sometimes the magic is in how we treat it, how we relate to the magic and our perception of what magic is. I like that your story evoked questions for me. Well done phylor. I must admit I am intrigued by your unusual name.

    Like

    • phylor July 7, 2014 / 9:16 pm

      Ah, the name! When I started blogging in 2009, I didn’t want to announce to the world it was me. So, I made up an alias.
      Hint: it is part of my names.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 July 7, 2014 / 9:19 pm

        I could have a guess but you’ve answered the question. Have a good day.

        Like

        • phylor July 7, 2014 / 9:22 pm

          PS: I was surprised to learn there is another Phylor who is, to say the least, not at all like me.
          Sorry I took the guess away — what was it?

          Like

  3. phylor July 6, 2014 / 3:18 pm

    Thank you, Colline.
    The story was inside me; I wasn’t sure just how to write it!

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

