we drink because we’re poets poetry prompt 17 dreamflights: impossibleness and guanacos

Dreamflights and Guanacos

I always loved

the impossibleness

a place to dream about

not spoiled by reality.

Since discovered

in dusty grade school

geography class,

my mind wanders

to its plateaus

and dangerous,

crashing seas.

Patagonia.

Now bedecked

with exclusive spas

and elite resorts.

I close my eyes to them

as I morph into

a laughing falcon

or wandering albatross

in my dreamflight

of impossibleness

and guanacos.

Photo: Guanacos grazing in field

credit: Wildlife Conservation Society; National Geographic: Patagonia wild life photography

{This is my first submission to we drink because we are poets poetry prompt. I feel shy and awkward about this as I don’t know if my submission is up to the standards of the poetry that flows from the other contributors. If I have overstepped the boundaries, please let me know.}

15 thoughts on “we drink because we’re poets poetry prompt 17 dreamflights: impossibleness and guanacos

  1. Suzanne July 21, 2014 / 7:15 pm

    How wonderful. Like you I’ve imagined Patagonia to be the last truly wild retreat. How sad to hear it is now home to exclusive resorts. I join you on your soaring albatross flight. :)

    Like

    • phylor July 21, 2014 / 8:13 pm

      Good to have you along on the flight.
      One part of me thinks the idea of staying at a spa there would be a delight. But then, it wouldn’t be the Patagonia of my childhood dreams.

      Like

  2. Colline July 8, 2014 / 8:39 pm

    I like what you have written Phylor and look forward to reading more entries :)

    Like

    • phylor July 9, 2014 / 1:43 pm

      Thanks, Colline. It’s an interesting blog that has a variety of prompts: flash fiction; photography; and poetry.

      Like

  3. CuriositytotheMax July 8, 2014 / 4:42 pm

    Geeeeeez Lorraine – NEVER apologize for your creative expression!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • phylor July 9, 2014 / 1:51 pm

      I was a new contributor to a blog with some very good poets.
      I promise I won’t apologize again. First word as a child: coffee; first sentence: I’m sorry!

      Like

  4. Oloriel July 8, 2014 / 1:44 pm

    This is a wonderful contribution! I could especially relate to the line that shows us the image of spa resorts. Whenever I imagine my dream places, I always imagine their wilderness and flora and fauna, never the hotels.

    Like

    • phylor July 8, 2014 / 2:39 pm

      When I saw an article on going to Patagonia to relax at spas, I was rather shocked, I must say. Not the way I imagined it would be!

      Like

      • Oloriel July 8, 2014 / 4:40 pm

        I know. A friend of mine was delighted beyond means when she was heading to see Notre Dame, but was very dissapointed to see it filled with cameras, high tech equipement and etc. She says it completely kills it as a work of art and architecture and monument.

        Like

        • phylor July 9, 2014 / 1:59 pm

          I know the feeling! I’ve been to London several times, and keep hoping that something will be as it should (in my mind).
          Best find: a tiny old church was under going some renovations and repairs. I went in just as the workmen went out for lunch. I had the whole place to myself. I walked around and saw the grave figures, the well worn pews, the stained glass. One of the best “tourist” hour’s I spent. And payment was by what you could afford; there was a box to put your money in.

          Like

          • Oloriel July 9, 2014 / 3:55 pm

            That sounds perfect! One more reason to draw me towards England!
            It is very hard for me to get used to being ripped off to see any monument, especially a church or a monastery, when all of that has free entry forever at here.

            Like

            • phylor July 18, 2014 / 11:10 am

              In the US, there is Museum Day when most museum waive entrance fees, and some waive for a few hours before they close.
              When in lived in Vancouver, BC the art gallery was free on Wednesday — a pay what you can (big plexiglass box with a slot). If places would at least have things free one day a week!

              Like

              • Oloriel July 19, 2014 / 1:40 pm

                Most of the stuff like this in Serbia is free. I mean, the point is to make people want to be culturaly educated and good culture venues easily accessible, right?
                I was in many countries of the world and I never go sight seeing or anything, because they charge enormous money just to breathe next to a church or similar places.

                Like

                • phylor July 19, 2014 / 7:51 pm

                  I wish more was free here. I’m from Canada and watched, there too, things that had been free, become pay.
                  I like the idea that in Serbia, there is no charge. I agree re the culture, education, etc.
                  I suspect that once tourism comes into play, governments see ways to gain more money. What a shame. Usually I just walk around and look at the buildings, sit in the parks, and take in what is free.

                  Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

