friday flash fiction july 11 2014: the shadow exchange

6. © Eclectic Odds n Sods
© Eclectic Odds n Sods

Shadows

I was alone, on the beach, looking for treasures. I stopped to look up at the blurred line of sky and sea.

That’s when I noticed our shadows had become intertwined again. I knew she was standing next to a tree, just as she would know I was by the ocean.

The exchange might last for the blink of an eye or a week or two. We saw each other’s lives played out in the shadows we cast.

I wondered if there was a way I could reach through the shadow world, and touch her hand. Perhaps she wondered the same.

I blinked my eyes against the glitter of light prisming on water.  My ordinary shadow of a woman on a beach was back. I hope her stop at the tree was part of an excellent day.

3 thoughts on “friday flash fiction july 11 2014: the shadow exchange

  1. Bastet July 12, 2014 / 12:34 am

    Excellent .. like the chill this gave me!

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

