mindlovemisery menagerie photo prompt: half

detalle1
half your face in shadow, taken as a prize

artist: Marcela Bolivar

half

I warned you

I begged you

not to read

the book

not to charm

nor whisper

incantations

but you in

your stubbornness

opened the

book and read the

inscription

room spun

and shivered

voices called

from the other side

too late

your face

half shadow

I lost you

to the darkness

that takes faces

as prizes

binds book

with them

half of yours

keeps portion of book

alive

I slide

under your book

under your nothingness

under the door

to the safety of

the sunlight

of reality

of life

my face whole

my soul still

mine

I pray

for yours

 

 

15 thoughts on “mindlovemisery menagerie photo prompt: half

  1. Bastet July 17, 2014 / 10:28 am

    Oh … gave me a shiver … what a magical mysterious dark poem. I’ve heard the phrase don’t open that door you put a new demension to what can be done with books ;-)

    Like

    • phylor July 17, 2014 / 8:05 pm

      Books for good or evil have always fascinated me like black magic and white magic!

      Like

      • Bastet July 18, 2014 / 12:18 am

        True … one never knows about books … a fascinating idea …

        Like

        • phylor July 18, 2014 / 11:02 am

          Bastet: Oh, the magic and power of books!

          Like

          • Bastet July 18, 2014 / 2:36 pm

            Exactly … they are a blessing.

            Like

    • phylor July 18, 2014 / 10:55 am

      Bastet: Thank you for the kind comments. When I watch a horror film, I always seem to get a chance to say “Don’t open that door!”

      Like

  2. summerstommy2 July 15, 2014 / 8:25 pm

    I saw a life metaphor in this phylor, a sort of dare to step out of your comfort zone and venture into something that may take you a place that is challenging. Amazing what opening a book can do for you…well done enjoyed this one.

    Like

    • phylor July 18, 2014 / 11:00 am

      summerstommy2: Books are very powerful; more mystery, magical, and imagination than a Kindle!

      Like

    • phylor July 15, 2014 / 4:13 pm

      Will read your piece soon. Yes, someone always has to open the door!

      Like

  3. Colline July 15, 2014 / 10:38 am

    Hah! Should have listened!
    Nicely done Phylor.

    Like

    • phylor July 15, 2014 / 4:20 pm

      Thanks Colline. As I said elsewhere, there is always someone who will open the door!

      Like

    • phylor July 15, 2014 / 4:23 pm

      Your images inspire me. Thank you for choosing such evocative/erotic/exotic pictures to work from.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

