mindlovemisery’s menagerie photo Prompt: strings

0_5d379_bdc96c05_orig

Artist: Kiyo Murakami

Strings.

Strings kept her in this world. Strings pulling to the next.

Strings wrapped her body; strings wrapped her soul.

Strings of memory; strings of pain.

Strings like jellyfish tentacles.

Strings holding kites between earth and sky.

Strings are for puppets; strings are for theory.

Strings that bind like family.

Strings that sing with the musician’s touch.

Strings are synapses between souls and cosmos.

Strings. That something so simple. So everyday.

Determine her life, our lives.

Tied up with a bow.

 

15 thoughts on “mindlovemisery’s menagerie photo Prompt: strings

  1. summerstommy2 July 26, 2014 / 6:01 pm

    Great poem Phylor, repetition works so powerfully in this piece. Well done.

    Like

    • phylor July 26, 2014 / 9:06 pm

      Thank you.
      My use/overuse of repetition, I suspect, comes from my teaching days when repetition helped students key in on the most important/crucial/significant points in a lecture or seminar. .
      Although I no longer teach, I still repeat myself (not just because of bad memory either, lol) and this same pattern, used to write up lecture notes and student handouts, has now embedded itself in my writing styles.
      It’s encouraging to hear that sometimes this habit works.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 July 26, 2014 / 9:11 pm

        Works for me of limited recall I can say. So well done.

        Like

  2. Tracesofthesoul July 23, 2014 / 3:14 pm

    so many thoughts surface when I see this image and your poem touched most of them…great poem!

    Like

    • phylor July 24, 2014 / 10:11 am

      Thanks!1
      It is an amazing creation (the picture, not my poem, lol

      Like

    • phylor July 23, 2014 / 10:50 am

      Thanks, Colline. When I started to think about strings, I realized how many there are!

      Like

      • Colline July 23, 2014 / 5:27 pm

        Because they are invisible we don’t think of their existence. But they are there, affecting our every move.

        Like

        • phylor July 25, 2014 / 10:24 am

          Kinda scary and kinda reassuring.

          Like

    • phylor July 23, 2014 / 10:51 am

      Thanks!
      There are so many strings in our lives. Don’t realize it until using it as a theme.

      Like

    • phylor July 23, 2014 / 10:55 am

      Thank you/.
      I’m off to read your post.

      Like

      • phylor July 23, 2014 / 11:13 am

        onceuponaurora: Your “chapter” was amazing. I left a comment for you over there.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

