Pain

Pain.

I knew you once. Knew your contours.

Understood your moods. Understood your power.

You were my pain. You didn’t own me at all.

Pain.

Now you control me.

Have me in tears.

Wrapped in the fetal position.

Wishing for morphine again.

Nothing will do for you.

No NSAID, homeopathic gel,

or non-opioid prescription pain medication.

You just laugh, and dig your claws deeper.

Into my eye socket. Into my cheek.

Into my jaw. Into my teeth.

Laughing as you travel to the right side

to have an empire of pain.

No relief

unless you will it.

Just to tease me.

To taunt me.

Then hit me

with all the power

your can have over me.

My pain owns me.

And I don’t know

if I’ll get my old pain back.

The one that didn’t own me.

6 thoughts on “Pain

  1. wendy July 25, 2014 / 7:32 pm

    now you own me…I don’t understand you..you own me. Pain…the darkest mistress has come to call….pain…pain….painnnn

    Like

    • phylor July 26, 2014 / 1:55 pm

      That’s exactly it! You understand the dilemma!

      Like

  2. koniramm July 24, 2014 / 6:06 pm

    I’m sorry you’re experiencing such pain. I have chronic low-grade pain due to fibromyalgia. I truly feel for people who experience chronic severe pain.
    I wanted to stop by and thank you for visiting The Netherworld. Come by anytime!

    Like

    • phylor July 25, 2014 / 9:21 am

      Knowing folks with fibro, constant low-grade pain can wear you down. Thanks for the open invitation: I’ll be back!

      Like

  3. phylor July 24, 2014 / 10:05 am

    Sorry to hear you get the same intense pain. I hope you get some relief. How do you deal with it?

    Like

  4. eclecticoddsnsods July 23, 2014 / 3:13 pm

    Awe ouch I get this and I’m sorry this is happening really am I hope you get to own it again xx

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

