mlm prompt 65 advice: when the raven speaks

I-Found-The-Silence
Artist: Martin Stranka

When the Raven Speaks

I have some advice for you, the raven said, hopping from table to chair top and back.

I must have left the window open she thought. God, how it hurt to think.

She remembered watching crazy severe storm. She remembered pain.

But laying on the floor and the raven were new.

Advice? she managed to mumble. Mouth dry. Lips glued together.

Yes, advice he responded testily. Why else would a raven enter a human’s house? Other than that one the fellow in Baltimore made famous, he said under his breath.

Through the spasms of pain, she asked why can we talk to each other?

Humans forget the animal languages one by one, the raven said with a superior tone to his voice.

Ravens never lost the ability to speak within both the animal and the human worlds. We prefer to be silent with humans. Nothing in common any more.

Special humans never lost ravenish. So, you should take the advice since you and I have an understanding. No reason not to listen, to learn.

She found words hard to form. She wanted to shake yes; tell me this important advice. But she couldn’t get her head to move. It felt stuck in glue. Barely turning her neck, she saw the goo was red. Dried and dying blood.

Now she remembered the great blast, a tree shaking the house, falling and then blackness. For how long? An hour or a week?

Raven said quite calmly. My advice is this: decide now what is the most important thing in life. What would you not sacrifice to the gate keeper no matter how sweet and slippery his entreaties may be. What is worthwhile in your heart and soul? What is most treasured? Would you give it away? Find the answers. Now is the time. And time is a commodity you are short of.

She lay glued to the floor by her own blood. Her head exploded whenever she tried to answer raven’s questions. The room seemed to be getting dimmer. Must be evening coming on she thought.

 

I’ve been using mlm’s various types of prompts as chapters in two novella length pieces very different from each other. Using prompts means the stories take unforeseen twists. I don’t know how the story will end, and I don’t know which prompt will seem to be saying fini. Advice 65 is part of story A.

 

16 thoughts on “mlm prompt 65 advice: when the raven speaks

  1. Heather July 28, 2014 / 10:10 pm

    I have an owl that stops by to say hello on a regular basis … but I guess I’ve forgotten Owlish, because I have no idea what s/he’s saying ;)

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2014 / 11:04 pm

      I can no longer have a two way conversation with lightening bugs/fire flies, lady beetles and butterflies. I think, maybe, they are laughing at my attempts at communication

      Like

  2. Bastet July 28, 2014 / 10:25 am

    I liked the story and followed with a sense of curiosity which became foreboding to then move onwards to a desire to shake the person and say … choose now, for soon it will be too late. Great creation Phylor, really well done.

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2014 / 11:06 pm

      I agree — she needs to make a decision. I also know what pain can do to your thinking processes.
      I have several versions of what happens when she regains consciousness; ravens didn’t come into the picture til the prompt!

      Like

      • Bastet July 28, 2014 / 11:50 pm

        Cool … interesting to see behind the scenes like this.

        Like

        • phylor July 29, 2014 / 3:24 pm

          I have pieces of so many stories (I tell myself stories all the time) in my head. Prompts have helped me release some and prompts have also created new ones!

          Like

          • Bastet July 29, 2014 / 10:21 pm

            Know what you mean … Prompts are good focal pieces or catalysts!

            Like

  3. Colline July 28, 2014 / 9:26 am

    I like what you have written and am pleased to read that it is part of a longer story.

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2014 / 11:08 pm

      Thanks. I am trying to figure out which posts are chapters and where they go.

      Like

  4. mindlovemisery July 28, 2014 / 1:18 am

    I agree with Michael this does have a wonderful sense of intrigue and there is something both sinister and almost calming in the raven’s presence

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2014 / 11:10 pm

      Ravens factor in so many stories in so many guises. I could picture him feeling superior, frustrated, and truly worried.

      Like

  5. summerstommy2 July 27, 2014 / 6:55 pm

    You create a delightful sense of intrigue and mystery in this story. The prompts do give fascinating direction for story. I like this one and yes I would like to see where it goes. You are doing ok with mystery yourself my friend.

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2014 / 11:12 pm

      Thank you.
      I think that ravens = mystery and Poe. I even learned to recite the poem for an English class!

      Like

    • phylor July 29, 2014 / 3:26 pm

      Thank you. I read your nuclear holocaust story and if you will excuse the pun — it blew me away!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

