they say/they ask

“how are you doing?” they ask

“worse,” I say

“good, you’re feeling better,” they say*

am I too broken to be fixed?” I ask

“see me next thursday,” they say

“but I cry every day,” I say

“here take this medication, too,” they say

“how are you feeling?” they ask

“I’m afraid I’m too broken to be fixed,” I say

“good, you are doing better,” they say

*Began receiving therapy in March. So far, the therapist seems very good. This is a “generic they” rather than “specific they.”

2 thoughts on “they say/they ask

  1. phylor July 29, 2014 / 3:28 pm

    For me, finding and receiving professional mental health assistance has been a difficult process since my collapse in November 2011.
    Other attempts at therapy left me thinking we were speaking two different languages, or the mental health professional needed to a) learn to listen (which you’d expect they would) and b) find compassion

    Like

  2. Colline July 27, 2014 / 10:24 am

    As I read this I sense a disconnect between the therapist and the patient. Is this what it is like Phylor?

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

