mlm’s menagerie #69, a dream come true?: if dreams had wings or a pick and a shovel

Fowl & frockMiss Aniela

If dreams had wings, or a pick and a shovel*

I was always unique (okay weird). So when asked what I wanted to be when grown up, I always said “an archeologist.” I loved the idea that archeologists uncovered forgotten pasts, revealed new artifacts, rewrote history.

Then, my sometimes practical aunt, told me how many years it to become an archeologist. To my child’s mind and way of reckoning, those ten to fifteen years AFTER I finished high school, meant there would be nothing left to discover! So why be an archeologist – I’d be obsolete by the time I became one.

Life certainly would be different!. In so many ways, there is no comparison.  The experiences that unfold would mold the different layers to suit the dream me. Perhaps even my heart and soul would take another shape. Would the core me remain? Had childhood scarred us both the same way?

I did end up studying and teaching history. I dug through the archives looing for the past. But, I didn’t dig through the sand, the peat, the earth to discover new pasts and old futures.

If the fate/fact of chronic pain couldn’t be avoided, then the dream me and the real me would share something in common.

* I realize that modern archeologists (is that an oxymoron?) use sophisticated computer, programs, and technologies in their efforts to unearth the past. I just felt that a pick and a shovel made for a better title.

7 thoughts on “mlm’s menagerie #69, a dream come true?: if dreams had wings or a pick and a shovel

  1. Tracesofthesoul August 25, 2014 / 6:46 pm

    Had I known about anthropology earlier I would have majoured in that and Sociology…so fascinating! Enjoyed your post!!

    Like

    • phylor August 25, 2014 / 7:26 pm

      I know what you mean. I wish I had taken anthropology (not taught at the small university I attended) It and sociology and social history would make for some very interesting article to read!

      Like

      • phylor August 25, 2014 / 7:29 pm

        PS: glad you enjoyed a story about another potential me.

        Like

      • Tracesofthesoul August 25, 2014 / 7:56 pm

        Yep, that’s why at 65 I want to go back to university cos it’s free at 65:)

        Like

        • phylor August 26, 2014 / 4:01 am

          Go for it! Learning is a life-long process!

          Like

  2. mindlovemisery August 24, 2014 / 11:06 am

    I took an anthropology class in college and every week we had to write a 10 page paper it was one of the most demanding classes I’ve taken. You couldn’t pass off fluff papers and she was very particular about grammar and documentation. She had a lot of amazing stories (she was an archaeologist as well) but I always figured I wasn’t meticulous enough for that sort of work. Though it does seem exciting when you grow up with stuff like Indiana Jones

    Like

    • phylor August 25, 2014 / 7:24 pm

      I don’t know where the idea came from. I wasn’t into dinosaurs, so I must have read or heard about archeology. Sounds like a demanding course.
      Indiana Jones does make the profession look more lively and entertaining. I don’t think I’d like to be running in front of a boulder, of clambering around the catacombs under Rome.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

