mindlovemisery’s Menagerie fairy tale Friday: lady of the mountain

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 10.02.27 PM

The Lady of the Mountain

Since I was young, I’d heard of the lady of the mountain. Some where in the Easterly Forest, beyond dawn, she lay, sleeping gently.

Before time became fixed, Bernice, loved a young man with dazzling blue eyes that sparkled when he saw her. But, they were miles apart in reality.

Cameron was high born, she low. His father arranged a marriage with a royal maiden from another kingdom. Then his power would be solidified; his sphere of influence widened.

The lovers slipped away to meet for the last time; the wedding was tomorrow. His  bride-to-be, Sylvania, was a stiff, proper Lady with no laughter in her eyes, and the smug smile of the rich and privileged. The more time he spent with her, the more he disliked her and longed for Bernice.

Bernice said “Meet me in the coloured Easterly Woods, at the top of Mount Verdant. I will wait forever for you.” A warm, loving kiss and she was gone.

His new bride was more than cold and smug. She knew the black arts, and would use them to ensure her husband loved her, and her rival would no longer be a threat. In the highest part of the castle, she laid our items for the dark rituals.

In a chalice she put a drop of her blood and hair from his head. Brewed with wine and dark purpose herbs, he would be bound to her forever. 

Sylvania made a charm she would put on a chain. As long as he wore it, he would not remember Bernice. She would counsel him, as a token of his undying love, to wear it always.

Now to take care of her rival. Calling her raven companions, she instructed them to fly to the Easterly Woods, and sprinkle from the pouch they carried forever sleeping dust.

Bernice waited patiently at Verdant Mountain. She knew he had many  entanglements to unravel before he could slip away to meet her. They would travel, hidden by the darkness of night, to the Northern Realm. Few went North, and none returned. She hoped that meant magic dwelt there.

She noticed the number of ravens, flying low and calling to each other. Suddenly, she felt sleepy despite her excitement and joy. “Just a nap while I wait” she said to her self. She feel into a gentle sleep.

Sylvania’s potion and wine worked their evil spells. Her husband now was besoughted with het, and had no memory of Bernice and their escape plans.

It has been a long sleep. Trees rooted in her hair, moss grew on her cheeks. She became part of the landscape. The lady of the mountain.

Written for fairy tale Friday by Anja, one the excellent writers who are part of mindlovemisery’s menagerie’s collective.

PS: I can’t believe it but this is my 1050th post. Wow, I write a lot, lol.

31 thoughts on “mindlovemisery’s Menagerie fairy tale Friday: lady of the mountain

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words September 8, 2014 / 2:48 pm

    Wonderful! even the sad ending, though all Faery Tales have magick within them so…
    I hope the spell can be unwoven and spun into more…after all, I think you just created Gaia :)
    I really enjoyed your work of art painted in magick words…The image is stunning, I would love to have it :)
    Thank you for sharing and giving me thoughts to spin in my mind
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryose

    Like

    • phylor September 8, 2014 / 7:17 pm

      Thank you maryose. Those are encouraging words! Like you, I hope there can be the traditional fairy tale ending. Unfortunately I read a lot of the corrective fairy tales told to children to influence their behavior. Often in those, there is no happy ending.
      With all this encouragement, I am working on, in my head, a sequel with a happier ending.
      Thank you for your inspiring. The image comes from Mindlovemisery’s menagerie. I can send you a copy, if you like.

      Like

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words September 10, 2014 / 12:08 am

        I am so sorry , life got in the way and I was thinking of the image as I was clicking off the computer, I have been doing cuttings in my gardens for propagating and so I can have a new flush of flowers for Autumn, and yes to much info :)
        Yes I would love a copy of it….I appreciate it very much…

        as for faery tales with no happy endings? I wonder..does that mean reality needs to change so they have the happily ever afters? :) sure one of them needs to be happily ever after….for those words are the beginning of dreams for humans to manifest ( just a thought) i like your ending, for I know love doesn’t always make it from one who is blinded by fear or the promise of whatever….you write what your heart whispers, that is always the ending it needs to be….
        Thank you again and have a good night or day…
        Take Care…You Matter…
        )0(
        maryrose

        Like

        • phylor September 10, 2014 / 9:58 pm

          Thank you. It might be easier if I provided you with the link to the image — that way you will have the original image I worked with. You are right, we do need some happy endings so we can dream, hope, aspire.
          I love the way you describe your garden and your work in it. I haven’t been to your blog, for which I apologize. Haven’t forgotten. The pain has drained much of my energy, so I haven’t been to other’s blogs, etc.
          Hopefully, some one will figure out why the sudden increase and change in pain. If not, then I readjust to the “new” reality.

          Like

  2. Bastet September 7, 2014 / 5:37 am

    What an excellent write Phylor .. I really enjoyed it from the beginning to the unhappy ending!

    Like

    • phylor September 7, 2014 / 4:24 pm

      I was totally into fairy tale mode with the odd thought in my mind that some ended tragically. Must be something I read.
      Glad you liked it. I always hope I can keep the reader engaged through the story.

      Like

      • Bastet September 8, 2014 / 1:51 am

        And you did very nicely! A wonderful tale.

        Like

  3. sunshine and chaos September 6, 2014 / 2:24 pm

    Congrats on the 1050th post! You write a lot but it’s wonderful writing.

    Might there be a sequel? Guess I’m being a romantic and hoping time hasn’t really passed that long. I was starting to think of what may happen next, which is a sign to me (and I’m sure to others) of a beautifully written fairy tale.

    Like

    • phylor September 7, 2014 / 4:38 pm

      Thank you for the compliment. Your suggestion just gave me an idea for a sequel! Something popped into my head. I hope I can write it soon!

      Like

  4. Pat September 6, 2014 / 12:08 pm

    Well congrats on the number of posts —- that’s quite the achievement!

    And another round of applause on this fascinating tale – of fairy hell horror. Well done – and perhaps, somehow, fairy dust magic will reunite the 2 lovers. As always, your imagination speaks brightly – and yes, what an amazing photo prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

    • phylor September 7, 2014 / 4:42 pm

      Thanks, Pat.
      I do have a dark side when it comes to fairy tales. Must have been raised on the “children should learn young to do or not do.”
      Now I have two ideas to incorporate into a somewhere down the path sequel.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. summerstommy2 September 5, 2014 / 8:57 pm

    Wonderful story phylor, I too was captivated by your words and the flow of the story. Very well done.

    Like

    • phylor September 6, 2014 / 5:28 am

      Thank you!
      The picture was captivating and kept drawing me in.

      Like

  6. Tracesofthesoul September 5, 2014 / 6:53 pm

    I love this and especially how you ended this tale…very nicely done…you always write such lovely fairy tales.

    Like

    • phylor September 6, 2014 / 5:32 am

      Thanks for the kind comment.
      There was a huge book of fairytales in one of the upstairs closets at my grandmother’s. I devoured it and devoured again. So, I think many of my fairy tales are rooted in that magnificent volume!

      Like

      • Tracesofthesoul September 6, 2014 / 5:40 am

        Well it shows,…you shine. I never read many as a child and my mother, being French,never read to us. I just had Mother Goose…haha…I must check some litrature …I find it facinating!

        Like

        • phylor September 8, 2014 / 7:37 pm

          In university I took a course on children’s literature which was fascinating. We looked at the history of kid lit, how it transformed into the modern era. That’s where I came across an author, Robert Munch, who was tackling topics in that didn’t come into play until much later. My favourite essay (not just becasue I got the first A I’ve ever seen on one of my papers) was to compare his various modern “fairy tales” to show how traditional stories can be shuffled around, and turned up side down.
          He also wrote I book I love. His books are small and the stories not long. The Paper Bag Princess takes on so many issues; and the ending is absolutely perfect. In this case, the princess has to rescue the prince! Well worth finding to have a read. His illustrations (I can’t remember if he did the drawings too) are great and fit nicely into the story.
          I think there was an old copy of Mother Goose in those closets at my Grandmother’s. Funny, but I don’t have strong remembories of those stories, often in rhyme Perhaps that’s where I learned about Chicken Little, the big bad wolf, and sleeping beauty.
          I hope you find the literature you would like to access. I image the internet can help, especially if your have an e-reader or smart phone, of course the tablet, lap top and desktop,
          If you ever want to talk fairy tales, I can give you the general themes (of the past) and the politically correct of today.
          Ooops. I think my comment may be longer than my fairy tale!

          Like

          • Tracesofthesoul September 8, 2014 / 8:18 pm

            Long but so informative…thank you so much. I am looking for stories for 6 and 7 year olds both in English and in French. Did not read much of Munch…but sure will now, thanks again for taking the time to share. My first A in university was Approach to a social problem, children and sexual abuse…and it led me on my journey to help youths.

            Like

            • phylor September 8, 2014 / 8:23 pm

              I will see if I can remember some other author writing for the age range.
              Sometimes our journeys are not what we thought they would be. Fate steps in to send you down the right path!

              Like

  7. arushiahuja September 5, 2014 / 3:19 pm

    So tragic Phylor!! I hope there is a way out for Bernice and Cameron! I hope someday he wakes her up!!

    Like

    • phylor September 6, 2014 / 5:33 am

      That would be so nice! Perhaps the spell can be lifted.

      Like

    • phylor September 5, 2014 / 11:01 am

      Thank you, LauraALord. I hope I draw the reader into the stories I write. Thanks for finding it captivating!

      Like

  8. mindlovemisery September 5, 2014 / 9:45 am

    Oh wow what a beautiful fairytale you’ve woven here I really love it

    Like

    • phylor September 5, 2014 / 10:54 am

      Thanks!
      Anja’s image was so captivating, I found myself falling into it at times.

      Like

  9. kaykuala September 5, 2014 / 9:03 am

    It has been a long sleep. Trees rooted in her hair,
    moss grew on her cheeks. She became part of the
    landscape. The lady of the mountain.

    Great ending Phylor! A true blue fairy tale. the lady part of the landscape!

    Hank

    Like

    • phylor September 5, 2014 / 10:53 am

      Thanks, Hank. I guess I am a traditionalist at heart. The image was so captivating, I deemed her lady of the mountain before I even knew what I wrote!
      I’ve yet to check out what others have written, and I look forward to reading your contribution

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

