mlm’s menagerie, photo challenge 25 the other woman: I smell her on your breath

Sisters 25

Tom Bagshaw

The Other Woman

The other woman, no need to confess

I can smell her on your breath

I feel her watching me as I shower

Comparing her lithe, sensual body

to mine

She is your other woman, there always is one

I met you when you were beaten and heart-broken

Your first love, long curly tresses, kisses sweet and deep

On your knee, with ring in hand, you asked for forever together love

She nodded no, “Oh, so sorry. Didn’t you know that I would accept

Liam’s proposal to wed; we have been lovers all along,”

You still search for her

Your first love

In the beds of other women

Since you can not find her in me.

15 thoughts on “mlm’s menagerie, photo challenge 25 the other woman: I smell her on your breath

  1. Bastet September 14, 2014 / 12:17 pm

    Heart breaking … but so well written, put a lump in my throat and a tear in my eye, but maybe for the other man.

    Like

    • phylor September 14, 2014 / 9:05 pm

      True, it’s not clear who is being hurt here.

      Like

      • Bastet September 15, 2014 / 2:38 am

        Ah .. past loves … sometimes one thnks one’s moved on, but ….

        Like

  2. Pat September 13, 2014 / 3:27 pm

    This is excellent — simple phrasing and yet elegant and powerful. Well done :)

    Like

    • phylor September 17, 2014 / 9:44 pm

      Thanks, Pat. “elegant and powerful” is a wonderful way to describe it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor September 12, 2014 / 9:38 am

      Thank you. I tend not to write happy endings.

      Like

  3. mo September 12, 2014 / 1:33 am

    excellent

    Like

    • phylor September 12, 2014 / 9:38 am

      Thanks, Mo. How are you doing these days? Glad you dropped by this and the 9/11 post.

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 September 10, 2014 / 6:35 pm

    Excellent take phylor on this prompt. The poem has the harsh language of resentment which is understandable in the circumstances. Like Yves I felt the stab of the final line. Well done.

    Like

    • phylor September 10, 2014 / 9:38 pm

      I tried to close with a statement that would reflect her feelings about herself and the situation. I was writing along, and the last 4 lines almost wrote themselves. The last line needed to be harsh and brittle.
      Thanks for the nice comment.

      Like

    • phylor September 10, 2014 / 9:35 pm

      I wrote this as the non-other-woman. What she would feel. And her partner/husband’s continuing search to replace what he had lost, she got lost too. The sad situation needed a sad ending.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

