Tale Weaver’s Prompt #25- The Night Before: the nightmare

T’was the Night before the Nightmare

Rocking on the front porch swing, watching the fireflies do their luminous dances. Night bugs chirped, whizzed and cackled.

A faint smell of roses swirled in the gentle breeze. Perhaps this what a zephyr feels like.

From far off,  I caught the sweet, earthy smell after a rain storm. Here it was brilliant starscapes; a billion trillion galaxies. Out of the velvet of the night sky, a falling star laid tracer lines as it hurled itself forward. “When you wish upon a star, makes no difference who you are . . .”

I should have made a wish. A wish for the continuance of my perfect life of solitude. I was good company for myself.

At dawn, a fleet of cars and U-Hauls bounced along the lane creating huge dust clouds. Loud voices. Banging. Blueprints and computer printouts of the renovations. Just too much. Retreated to the musty dusty attic as a survival tactic.

When my longing for swinging in the front porch swing got too strong, I  tiptoed down the stairs, avoiding the steps that creaked.

Gently pulling the new French Doors open and taking a deep breath of moist, cool, night air. A sensation I so dearly missed.

I slip out to the porch, now converted into an “outdoor” conversation corner.  Because it was a funky antique, they had not renovated the swing out of existence.

I watch the fireflies I could not see from the tiny windows in the attic. Felt like crying. 

Dammit, this was my house while I lived, and is my house since I died.

I gave no permission for the living to occupy my space; I didn’t ask for housemates.

I am to quiet, flittery, and timid. I’ve allowed them to become ensconced in their “country house” too easily.

It’s time I took back my house, my front porch swing, my fireflies. I’ve never had to haunt this place. Guess it’s time I did. Gonna be kinda fun. . . .

16 thoughts on “Tale Weaver’s Prompt #25- The Night Before: the nightmare

  1. sunshine and chaos September 15, 2014 / 11:43 am

    Love it! Did I ever tell you about the time I saw a ghost? I walked back into my room and saw a man standing at my desk, his hands on my chair looking at the computer screen. Didn’t see his face, he was gone once I blinked but I knew what I saw. He looked great, too! Top hat, formal tux. Looked like he was on his way to an event like the opera.

    The perks of living in an old house. :)

    Like

    • phylor September 17, 2014 / 9:28 pm

      WoW — that’s neat!
      My grandfather hung around after he passed, but it was sounds and such. Never actually saw him.

      Like

  2. Pat September 13, 2014 / 3:54 pm

    Great job – and so in character. I could feel the solitude of the narrator – and it seemed to be a real person – so brilliant capture with the “ghostly” twist. And a wickedly fun idea – having to haunt, after all this time. Excellent!

    Like

    • phylor September 14, 2014 / 9:18 pm

      Michael suggested I do a follow up story that includes the haunting. I imagine she will have to practice a bit. Or find the Ghost’s Manual to Haunting.
      Thanks for you compliments. It encourages to me continue to write when others enjoy my stories.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pat September 14, 2014 / 9:28 pm

        Lol —- love the idea of a manual for haunting – speaks a little to the movie Beetlejuice. ;)

        It’s always interesting to be able to find something that resonates and then decide, if possible, to have fun with it. Encouragement is what’s the universal thread that we all want and need – and it’s not a bad thing at all – if it is sincere. :)

        Like

    • phylor September 12, 2014 / 7:26 pm

      I think that haunting is just what needed to both add some fun, and get rid of the “houseguests”
      Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  3. mindlovemisery September 12, 2014 / 1:10 am

    I love how unexpected this is! I am with Michael love the idea of a scheming ghost

    Like

    • phylor September 12, 2014 / 9:26 am

      I knew the narrator would be a ghost, and somewhere along the line, I figured “she” would get fed up — she having a hauntingly good time now.

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 September 11, 2014 / 2:25 pm

    A scheming ghost. i love that concept phylor. Great take on this prompt enjoyed it very much. And yes it should be fun.

    Like

    • phylor September 11, 2014 / 8:20 pm

      I can imagine all the mayhem and chaos the ghost can deliver to the living ones in the house.
      I agree, it should be fun. Perhaps another story here. When Ghosts Go Wild.

      Like

        • phylor September 11, 2014 / 8:26 pm

          Good tag line for the story!

          Like

            • phylor September 12, 2014 / 9:28 am

              That’s an intriguing proposition. Ya never know . . . .

              Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

