Write to life

write to life

I’m a head-writing story teller. I wove tales to survive childhood. My first “book” was carefully printed with my best pencil in a scribbler with a bright orange cover, and rough, pulp-paper pages.

In my jangled life leading up to my break-down and jumbled, surreal world after, my head-stories were potential blog posts, and mystery novels (novellas, really). Without a therapist, I wrote for therapy.

The former “Carry-On Tuesday,” expanded my writing from being about me, to being me. Creative writing presented the infinite possibilities my life could not.

Now, my notebooks are full of a different set of head-tales. Moving away from my emotional, mental, and physical chronic pain as topic, to flights of fancy echoes of my childhood head-tales.

This summer, writing again keep me from going over the edge. Faced with  new intense pains and hurting to heal mentally, responding to writing prompts distracted me.

And as with my writing as therapy, I met new people, gained from their insights and encouragement, and managed to stay grounded in a landscape of my own making.

6 thoughts on “Write to life

  1. wendy September 16, 2014 / 4:51 pm

    I love your writing. As much as I “talk” with you it amazes me how much I learn about you through writing on here. I wish I could spin a tale like you do….I just talk.

    Like

    • phylor September 21, 2014 / 2:05 pm

      Talking is communication just like writing is. You spin tales with your voice, I spin them with a keyboard.

      Like

  2. phylor September 16, 2014 / 12:57 pm

    Thank you.
    I value your comments and insights. I enjoy reading your well written and interesting blog posts.
    I will remember your discussion of ideas and musicals; I agree with your suggestion that this concept can work with various types of writing.
    Thanks again.

    Like

  3. Pat September 14, 2014 / 5:27 am

    Your story sounds familiar to me. Of course, yours is yours – as mine is mine – but that’s the beauty of sharing – finding the similarities that make us feel less alone and acknowledging the differences, which is where we learn and understand more. :)

    I agree with Michael – I enjoy your stories and style!

    Like

    • phylor September 14, 2014 / 9:07 pm

      Thanks Pat! Your comments have been encouraging and useful.
      The similarities start the dialogue; the differences make those conversations deeper and richer.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. summerstommy2 September 13, 2014 / 2:21 pm

    I love the way you have described this and the importance of writing to you now. I know all my stories begin in my head, they often roll around in there for some time before they come out. I always thought from years back now when I was writing a musical that if the idea could stay in my head long enough it must be a workable one. That’s how I did it/do it. I’m glad you write on your blog phyor, you have a unique style, I love reading your words, keep them coming.

    Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

