photo challenge 26 silver: silver & Gold, Heart & soul

Silver Cesar Santos 26
Cesar Santos

Silver and Gold

I gave you gold and silver

I gave you furs and jewels

I gave you my heart and soul

In exchange you allowed

Me an audience in your rooms

A languid pose on your bed

Splendid back towards me

Showing every curve

You yawned and turned

Took a glance to see which suitor

And returned to your side

Another yawn, and a dismissive wave

“I have another appointment

I shall enjoy to keep

Go now”, she whispered

So soft I almost didn’t hear

“But I have given you silver and gold

I have given you my heart and soul”

You laughed and rose from your bed

“As do most men, only what I deserve

I am perfection, I am delight”

8 thoughts on “photo challenge 26 silver: silver & Gold, Heart & soul

  1. Pat September 29, 2014 / 8:54 am

    You laughed and rose from your bed/ “As do most men, only what I deserve/ I am perfection, I am delight”

    There is such a resounding sense of purpose and confidence here; very well written as the imploring voice just weeps volumes and the dismissal is so abrupt; excellent contrast.

    Like

    • phylor September 29, 2014 / 7:43 pm

      Thanks, Pat!
      I knew that “she” must be unattainable. The ashes of one sided love.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. phylor September 18, 2014 / 12:51 pm

    I will see how I delete comments, and will so, any problems, I’ll you know.
    I don’t know I there is a way to make your comment only visible to the person who posted the on the blog if you did want to say something.
    You can always email me at phylorsblog@ymail.com if there is anything you want to say about a post.

    Like

  3. summerstommy2 September 17, 2014 / 7:39 pm

    Such a tone of dismissiveness and so well written. Lovely poem phylor.

    Like

    • phylor September 17, 2014 / 9:22 pm

      Thank you!
      She struck me as being self-absorbed.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

