towards healing: 31 five minute free writes

Five Minute Free Writes button

I decided to take another month long writing adventure!

The 31 days of Five Minute Free Writes is a challenge within a challenge, hosted by  Kate Motaung of Five Minute Free Write Fridays. She was inspired by 31 Days to put a Five Minute Free Write Fridays spin on the 31 Days challenge to post every day in October.

Interested?

For 31 days, I will spend five minutes just writing – no overthinking, no revisions. The broad theme: towards healing. So, each day I will share my thoughts, journey, discoveries, breakthroughs on healing body, mind, and spirit.

I use writing as therapy, so this challenge fits into two molds: healing and structure. The feeling of accomplishment when I made it start to finish in April doing the Health Activists Writers Month Challenge was amazing!

Wish me luck!

15 thoughts on “towards healing: 31 five minute free writes

  1. Pat October 1, 2014 / 11:46 am

    Fascinating – and I wish you great success – as long as it helps – then self-censors be damned!

    Like

    • phylor October 2, 2014 / 8:05 am

      I’m looking for a balance — of being open and honest while staying private and aloof. I wrote about my mental health for therapy for several years until I finally got a therapist that fit the insurance and travel criteria. I thought perhaps someone would read it, and not feel as alone as I could.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pat October 2, 2014 / 8:19 am

        Yes – balance – this seems to be a very KEY issue with many of us. And it’s not easy, but still, we have to try.

        I’m sure that there were many who did benefit from sharing/reading you thoughts and experiences – it’s true – if one person speaks up – it can less the burden of others who feel they are alone – and in so doing, it may offer them the courage to speak up and share too. But like everything else – it’s about balance – and knowing what is best for oneself – which is trial and error.

        I do know one thing – I appreciate reading your blog and all the varied content. There is always something interesting and special that I find here.

        As for your comment – ” … of being open and honest while staying private and aloof.” – I understand – but perhaps, if I may – the idea of aloof implies distance and mistrust – which may be how you feel at times – but perhaps it might be an idea to consider – “protected” instead. That’s how I think about it – aloof suggests untouchable and offers a sense of not giving a damn – rather self-serving actually. And somehow, I’m not sure this is “who” you are – so, I try to find the balance in what I offer – as being more of “self-protection” – meaning cautious but not subject to taking comments – if they are negative and nasty – too personally.

        Anyhow …. you may veto all of this – hit “delete” if it pleases you – or you find it too persona – and I will be okay with it. No problems – and now – to continue with the day and consider how many Happiness Slices I can manage.

        Like

        • phylor October 2, 2014 / 2:12 pm

          I agree that aloof doesn’t convey what I was trying to say. With time a commodity, I pushed on. If the clock wasn’t ticking, your suggestions make perfect sense, and I would include should I rewrite it down the road
          Thanks for the always good advice.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Pat October 2, 2014 / 3:11 pm

            Ahhh … don’t be worrying – I was just wondering if I was understanding you correctly – besides, it’s your space – and you get to write what you want :)

            And so I hope you are having a wonderful day — slice of happiness cake anyone?

            Like

              • Pat October 3, 2014 / 7:23 am

                Simple – cooked rice noodles (added at the end), lentils (whatever type or other legumes – and for ease – canned but well rinsed) and then whatever vegies you would like. Last night it was red onion, yellow wax beans, celery and cauliflower. Seasoned as you wish.

                Like

                • phylor October 4, 2014 / 9:42 pm

                  Oh dear, unfortunately I can’t eat most the of the lentil family with peanuts being the worst. Still sounds great — I wonder what could be substituted for legumes?

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • Pat October 5, 2014 / 3:31 am

                    You could add anything that you can eat – chicken, pork – whatever. It would simply be choosing the proteins you can eat – even pre-cooked scrambled eggs, added at the last few minutes.

                    Like

                    • phylor October 6, 2014 / 8:16 am

                      Thanks for the suggestions. Now, to get down to cooking, lol.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Pat October 6, 2014 / 2:59 pm

                      Good luck and have some fun with it :)

                      Like

  2. cuoreq October 1, 2014 / 2:43 am

    Am thrilled to be reading this & more to come over the next 31 days. :) Keep writing candidly! ;)
    Your neighbour on 31 days.

    Like

  3. summerstommy2 September 30, 2014 / 10:10 pm

    Good luck. If this works for you then I wish you well, go for it Phylor, I’ll be keen to see the shape your words take.

    Like

    • phylor October 1, 2014 / 10:26 am

      I think I’m more apt to share in a free write; no self-editor allowed.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

