towards healing: 31 Five Minute Free Writes, Oct. 6

towards healing: 31 five minute free writes

October 6: Frustration

GO

In the healing process, there will be frustrations and setbacks – too many to list in 5 minutes. For example:

I am a chronic depressive. Anti-depressants are like sugar pills. If there is any benefit, it’s usually at best for about 6 months. Increasing the dose makes no difference. When the efficacy wears off, I am twice as depressed, and cry much more. There are only a handful of anti-depressants that I haven’t tried.

I get frustrated with the prescriber. I KNOW that anti-depressants usually don’t work, and am often prescribed a “new” or an “old” one with the same results. I also warn them that extended release medication can be problematic. How much I absorb and how much I reject of the later released medication varies from medication to medication, and how my digestive system is functioning.

The issue is the same with coated medication. I can only guarantee some absorption if I make a small scratch in the coating.  Medications and my digestive system aren’t in tune.

And, I know that the prescriber gets frustrated with me if the anti-depressants don’t work, and/or they and other medications aren’t completely absorbed. I warn them from the beginning that I will be a unique patient, and ask if they are ready for me and my quirks.

STOP

5 thoughts on “towards healing: 31 Five Minute Free Writes, Oct. 6

  1. summerstommy2 October 6, 2014 / 12:33 pm

    Well I think you got the last bit pretty spot on. Unique you are.

    Like

    • phylor October 8, 2014 / 4:16 pm

      Unique does sound better than weird, strange, nutbar, and other such things.

      Like

        • phylor October 8, 2014 / 7:53 pm

          I try, but I’m a jaded cynic at heart!

          Like

          • summerstommy2 October 8, 2014 / 9:10 pm

            I have gathered that……but all you can do is as you say – try.

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

