mlm’s Menagerie photo #29: red rubber boots

mindlovemisery’s menagerie photo challenge 29, passing through: red rubber boots

Passing Through

lesley-oldaker@Deviant Art

This week Laura A. Lord has provided the picture for the photo prompt so be sure to visit her blog.

~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~ ~ * ~

She wanted red rubber boots with white swirls. She wanted a rain coat that was violet, with small flowers scattered across it. She wanted an umbrella that, when open, had birds flying and singing.

She imagined how she would look among the dark coats with hoods, and black rubber boots. She would be the first bright yellow flower in spring. She would be the first brilliantly coloured leaf in fall. She would be the first delicate lacy snow flake.

She imagined a world with colours other than on the scale of deepest black to lightest gray. What if everyone had patterned rubber boots? What if every one had a coloured rain coat? What if everyone had an umbrella with birds, flowers, animals?

But that would be revolution. Was she ready to agitate for it?

11 thoughts on “mlm’s Menagerie photo #29: red rubber boots

  1. J October 13, 2014 / 11:06 pm

    I’ll be right there behind her — :D
    się z rewolucją!
    Wonderfully written — I really liked this.

    Like

    • phylor October 14, 2014 / 9:57 pm

      Glad you liked it.
      Hope I’m not being nosey asking what the second sentence means.
      I’m glad you’d be right behind her.

      Like

      • J October 14, 2014 / 10:23 pm

        It means, “Revolution!” in Polish. ;)
        And when the revolution succeeds I’ll say Na Zdrowie — cheers! :)

        Like

        • phylor October 14, 2014 / 10:34 pm

          My first Polish language lesson! I have, among other dyslexicas, a problem with speaking the words. Pronunciation sounds all right in my head, but comes out a managed mess. This includes French (Canada’s official 2nd language, and English, too!

          Like

          • J October 14, 2014 / 10:39 pm

            Here’s lesson #2: you’ll see Na Zdrowie at about 1:40 in Lechaim in Fiddler On the Roof. (Nah zdroh vyah.)If it makes you feel any better though (probably doesn’t!) I do much the same thing sometimes. I’ll have one pronunciation in my head (or one whole different word in my head) and say something totally different. Gets awkward. So, I do feel for you.

            Like

  2. summerstommy2 October 8, 2014 / 1:10 pm

    Excellent phylor, I think we all crave a wold of colour away from the gloom we often find ourselves living in. You have posed a fascinating question at the end, the ‘agitate’ is intriguing.

    Like

    • phylor October 8, 2014 / 4:12 pm

      Think maybe I’ve always wanted to be un agent provoquer(Not sure I spelt that right). So fomenting a revolution must be in my genes.
      Glad you liked my colour added to that world of grey.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 October 8, 2014 / 4:48 pm

        Maybe in a previous life you were a great warrior for change?

        Like

        • phylor October 8, 2014 / 7:48 pm

          Quite possible. I try to be a warrior these days too.

          Like

  3. mindlovemisery October 8, 2014 / 9:57 am

    I am very charmed by this one, it seems so pure and innocent and yet it is emarkably profoud

    Like

    • phylor October 8, 2014 / 4:14 pm

      Thank you.
      It started off as a little girl’s wishes, then some how it became a revolutionary statement.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

