mindlovemisery’s menagerie Photo challenge #30, crashing cranes: Eugene

Mindlovemisery’s menagerie photo challenge # 30: crashing cranes

Eugene

Paper Cranes

John Alunan

Eugene was not quite like anyone else.

He observed and thought in origami. He didn’t make it, the folded paper was his mind. Origami swans, cranes, flowers, boats.

Some times, if his brain felt too full, he made steam circle his head. Each origami piece left his mind. To fly. To drift. To fall to the earth.

10 thoughts on “mindlovemisery’s menagerie Photo challenge #30, crashing cranes: Eugene

  1. Pat October 19, 2014 / 10:38 am

    Wonderfully unique perspective and highly enjoyable. Great job :)

    Like

    • phylor October 19, 2014 / 11:04 am

      Thanks Pat. I’m trying to use a flash fiction approach which means every word has to convey some thing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pat October 19, 2014 / 11:52 am

        Yup – that approach will definitely mean stripping it all down to essences. :)

        Like

  2. Oliana @Tracesofthesoul October 18, 2014 / 1:50 am

    I enjoyed this interpretation and know what you mean about doing less computer, I am doing more flash ficitons and short poems now.

    Like

    • phylor October 20, 2014 / 9:54 pm

      Thanks! I don’t always hit the flash fiction limit, but I do try!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. summerstommy2 October 17, 2014 / 3:27 pm

    Intriguing that he let them fly, drift fall to earth, I love that image you have created phylor, so very lyrical and you say so such a succinct manner.

    Like

    • phylor October 17, 2014 / 9:43 pm

      As I’m limiting computer time, I’m going to take a flash fiction attitude. I also hope to read at least two stories from the prompt. That will be harder.
      I looked at the image and thought what if you did see the world as origami?

      Like

    • phylor October 17, 2014 / 9:44 pm

      Couldn’t help it — I’ve never been able to do origami, so I thought a head full would be interesting!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

