mindlovemisery’s menagerie prompt 77, Oscar wilde Quotes: #owsatnite@8

For today’s prompt (from mindlovemisery’s menagerie) choose a quote from Oscar Wilde for your inspiration. . . .  Oscar Wilde is known for his witty and thought-provoking quotes so try to include an element of humor/sarcasm/absurdity into your work.

Oscar Wilde

“And, it seems to me, you lived your life like a candle in the wind. . .  Your candle burned out long before your legend ever did.” Elton John and Bernie Taupin (original lyrics).

#owsatnite@8

“I can’t choose. Which one?”

I barely looked up a my roommate. Such queries usually meant she was holding up two tops or pairs of jeans, or deciding who to go clubbing with.

But, she was speaking to her ipad, not to me. (She thought of such devices as more than inanimate objects. After all, they could talk to you).

Saturday night: 2 big concerts; #nuclub; at least 3 parties; and whatever else kept her out. But, there she sat, head resting on intertwined hands when she wasn’t scrolling.

I had to find out what on the ipad beat out Saturday night. I looked over her shoulder – she was reading Oscar Wilde quotes. Some hot guy must be an intellectual. Guess that’s not quite an oxymoron in her world.

“Choose?” I asked.

“Yeah, I gotta pick a quote by Oscar Wilde that inspires me, and I can’t decide. Have you heard about him? Thought he’d be one of those #DWG. Like he wrote this amazing stuff hundreds of years ago. Even went to jail for his conviction.”

I asked, “So which ones have you narrowed it down to?”

“About 100.”

I pulled a chair over to her desk. “Pick a topic . . .”

Thus began  #owsatnite@8*

* not really a link

11 thoughts on “mindlovemisery’s menagerie prompt 77, Oscar wilde Quotes: #owsatnite@8

  1. Bastet October 21, 2014 / 4:58 am

    Excellent Phylor … and alas … his candle burnt out far too soon … to be an estethe, a man of unclear sexual tendancies and Irish too boot, in a world of straight laced victorians was a cruel fate indeed.

    Like

    • phylor October 21, 2014 / 10:23 am

      A cruel fate, indeed. I have often wondered what exceptional authors, writing in a more forgiving/accepting, would write. Of course, it would still be brilliant and creative (given their skill), but what if they didn’t have a world to write against?
      Poor Oscar. He lived well and died poorly.

      but I wonder if he were part of a more forgiving time, would it affect this writing? He would always be brilliant and creative, and witty. But how much of what he wrote was

      Like

      • Bastet October 21, 2014 / 10:59 am

        It’s hard telling. But actually he was flamboyant, wonderfully arrogant and had a flare for words that few had in his or even our day and wrote some of his greatest pieces when he was not under persecution. I think he might have written “better” when he was under the heavy weight of society’s judgement (but it should be said that if he hadn’t tried to sue The Maquis of Queensberry for libel, he probably would never have opened himself to the accusation of homosexuality, which had just recently become a crime) … he wrote more emotionally in his last years, but his lovely works of light humor and witticisms … were sublime and for what we remember him.

        Like

        • phylor October 21, 2014 / 12:04 pm

          I don’t remember Oscar in high school. My first encounter was when a friend lent me “The Ballad of Reading Gaol.”
          Of course, I had to read more. So, I approached Oscar backwards.
          You are so right, there are very few with his brilliance, flair, individuality, and wit.

          Like

          • Bastet October 21, 2014 / 12:32 pm

            Wow … you really did start out at the darkest period in his life! I didn’t get him in high school either … or maybe some mention was mad of Dorian Grey … I don’t remember what I read the first time but I’ve read his stories very very often. I did a lesson on him last year for my ESL conversation course … I’d never read his biography and was so saddened about how his life ended. It really shouldn’t have gone that way … sigh.

            Like

  2. C.C. October 19, 2014 / 9:52 pm

    Great idea…..especially difficult to just choose ONE of his quotes…I haven’t met an Oscar Wilde quote that I didn’t like or find inspirational :-)

    Like

    • phylor October 20, 2014 / 8:20 am

      I totally agree. Today, I shall post a quote that is one of my favourites that has a tangential link to the prompt!

      Like

  3. Colline October 19, 2014 / 8:16 pm

    Good one Phylor – to make the choice part of your story :)

    Like

    • phylor October 20, 2014 / 9:44 pm

      Thanks, Colline. I had a hard time — and actually forgot to add my quote! Posting it today!

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 October 19, 2014 / 7:30 pm

    Dear Miss phylor, I am not sure if we have met but I am bowerbirdfairygirl – aka The Word Fairy and Michael is letting me comment on these fairy tales this week. I did love how you combined a quote from Elton and Bernie into this prompt. The choice of which quote to choose I can well imagine is a task, glad it wasn’t me I’d be tempted to write on several. He did die young the poor chap but he left us a legacy and I have many of his books in my bower. Beautifully written and don’t you just love a good oxy moron, military intelligence is my favourite.
    Love your words, The Word Fairy.

    Like

    • phylor October 20, 2014 / 9:52 pm

      Well, nice to meet you, Word Fairy. On Attenborough and others’ nature programs, I have seen the amazing bowerbird — any relation to bowerbirdfairygirl? If you are, Oscar’s books will love very nice as part of your display.
      I was reading about how Oscar died penniless in Paris, the line “your candle went out long before your legend did” popped into my head.
      Thank you for your visit and your kind words. #owsatnite@8 is open for anyone to join. And, I will post the quote that inspired the story and is my favourite one.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

