fairy tale friday #31: a millennium

By Kristy Mitchell

Kristy Mitchell

a millennium

It must be a millennium by now. Any time now that new volunteer would blunder through the woods to my perch.

This branch over time turned my skin a delicate soft white. My hair has designed it’s-self a style intertwined like the roots of the tree.

My clothes have become a bit sparse. Not one to reveal much, I look forward to my long wide dresses again.

Surprises. No where’s as dull as I figured. The rootlets sang ancient songs on solstices. The roots vibrated with life force. Minerals in the soil clinging to the leaning tree glistened and glowed.

And, hey, I, yes me, even learned stuff. How the stars keep their shine. Why lemons are bitter. How to chose the right path. What your eyes say about you.

The Tree and I often talked though no words were spoken.

I am the guardian of the Tree. Keeping the Tree of Life; of Magic from toppling to the ground.

The Tree needs a companion so loneliness doesn’t create the upheaval of roots, like before.

The volunteer guardians, for their duty, receive an appropriate present, carved by the royal carver from branches given freely by the tree. But hey, what would I do with a wooden brooch?

It must be a millennium by now. Hope my replacement is late; the Tree is going to tell me a tale from the cycle of the Myriads, which apparently has 1,000 poems or pages. I forget which.

 

Anja has been choosing phenomenal pictures as our fairy tale prompts. The Kristy Mitchell one for prompt 31 is especially haunting to me. I was completely drawn into the picture, and needed to shake my head to come back to my now.

11 thoughts on “fairy tale friday #31: a millennium

  1. Pat October 27, 2014 / 2:15 pm

    Wonderful and creative way to write the prompt response – I certainly can understand how you have been drawn in by this image. Fascinating and wonderful Phylor – so many evocative images :D I’m loving this.

    Like

    • phylor October 29, 2014 / 12:38 pm

      Thanks Pat! I really appreciate your comments. The image is fascinating — the first that came to mind was this was the Tree of Knowledge, and the girl was it’s guardian. So many ways to interpret!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pat October 29, 2014 / 3:14 pm

        It’s my pleasure to share comments and ideas, when I have them – but sometimes I read, and rate or like – it’s the best I can do in the moment – which is all any of us can do :)

        Like

    • phylor October 25, 2014 / 11:19 am

      Thanks for the encouraging compliment. It’s the prompt that brings me the inspiration and sends me in a certain direction.

      Liked by 1 person

      • eclecticoddsnsods October 26, 2014 / 11:50 am

        that’s great, my time constraints are killing all my creativity at the moment, but hoepfully I can nab some time to let my muse out :D Before she runs away x

        Like

  2. summerstommy2 October 24, 2014 / 9:43 pm

    I found this a beautiful piece of writing phylor. So many intriguing images, expressions. Your writing is so lyrical and took me into this place you describe so well. Excellent piece.

    Like

    • phylor October 25, 2014 / 11:20 am

      Thank you — your comments are always encouraging.

      Like

    • phylor October 29, 2014 / 12:40 pm

      Thanks so much. The image drew me in more and more, and from the first I knew the characters’ roles — it was how the first person narrative would work.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

