pride

Januz Miralles
Januz Miralles

Pride

Once I was proud of my long, graceful neck.

I wore necklaces of prisms and butterflies.

Once I was proud of my beautiful, flawless face.

Sultry eyes, perfect complexion, seductive mouth.

Once I was proud of my thick soft hair.

Hanging down my back, shimmering black.

I withstood the acid of your tongue.

I could not withstand the acid you flung. 

Inspired by mindlovemisery’s menagerie, photo challenge #34, “Wrap”; recommended by Prajakta

12 thoughts on “pride

  1. Pat November 16, 2014 / 8:42 pm

    Absolutely powerful – stunning ending – those two lines – Wallop!

    Even though a dark ending – still fantastic piece. :D

    Like

    • phylor November 17, 2014 / 10:23 am

      Thanks, Pat. I am tending towards dark endings these days.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pat November 17, 2014 / 6:47 pm

        Well, I do hope that your days aren’t making you feel down and out, as it were. Take great care of yourself :D

        Like

  2. Blake November 14, 2014 / 3:30 pm

    The last two lines are stunning – they literally stun you a little, with the climax appearing without warning like that. Really well crafted.

    Like

    • phylor November 17, 2014 / 10:26 am

      Thank you, Blake.
      The image had me thinking why would she be hiding behind lace and silk wraps.
      Unfortunately, acid attacks are not that uncommon.

      Like

  3. mindlovemisery November 13, 2014 / 4:18 am

    Oh wow this is powerful I recently watched a documentary on acid attacks, such extreme cruelty

    Like

    • phylor November 18, 2014 / 4:08 pm

      I know. That someone could do such a thing! Rarely talked about, but people need to be made aware of this inhumane practice!

      Like

  4. phylor November 12, 2014 / 11:15 pm

    I think I shy away from happy endings — out of character.
    When I looked at the picture, the first thought that came to mind was why would she wrap her neck, 1/2 her face, and her hair?
    The 2 lines wrote themselves, and I went with the flow.

    Like

    • phylor November 12, 2014 / 11:16 pm

      oops the upside down reply happened again!

      Like

  5. summerstommy2 November 12, 2014 / 11:09 pm

    Oh dear what was once good is now so grim. I had this feeling as I red it wasn’t going to end so well.

    Like

    • phylor November 29, 2014 / 4:20 am

      There is a kinda foreshadowing in the piece.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

