sanguine artist

sanguine artist

Red roses

for you

I paint

a perfect red rose

symbolizing

deep passion

creative spirit

dramatic statement

yet contrary to

the symbolism

thorns are stronger

than your true love

sharp barbs

prick my fingers

drawing blood

to paint

a single imperfect

red rose

for I am

a sanguine artist

I paint with

blood and tears.

Inspired by mindlovemisery’s menagerie photo challenge #35, flowers in the snow for mindlovemisery’s menagerie.

 

16 thoughts on “sanguine artist

  1. Pat November 21, 2014 / 7:43 am

    Powerful and simple – and yet – multiple meanings. Great job :D

    Like

    • phylor November 25, 2014 / 6:47 pm

      Thanks Pat! I feel guilty that I don’t browse around and read other posts. Long story, but it seems selfish, to me, to garner the praise of others and not return the praise and favour!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pat November 29, 2014 / 10:40 am

        Well I think we all do what we can, given our time and particular set of circumstances – and that is all we can do. :)

        Like

        • phylor November 29, 2014 / 11:07 am

          Very true. But there are so many great blogs, yours included that I enjoy reading and learning from that I miss the experience, and when folks like you leave such encouraging comments, I feel guilty that I don’t pop over and read your posts!
          Long reply, I know. Almost a piece of flash fiction, lol.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Pat November 29, 2014 / 2:02 pm

            Lol – yeah, flash fiction ;)

            Look – you so what you can, that’s all.

            I haven’t been around for some time now – and I have pages to read – reams – but I won’t do it all – I’ll just select and browse when I can, until things work out differently.

            Give yourself a break already!

            When it come to my space – I expect nothing from my readers. Those who can can – those who can’t can’t. No problems. Sure, I appreciate all the feedback and likes and great comments – but sometimes people just can’t do it – for whatever reasons. And this shouldn’t be a big deal. *shrugging* it isn’t to me, at any rate.

            So, go on, go have your favorite treat – and stop feeling so guilty. You’ve done nothing wrong. :D

            Like

            • phylor November 30, 2014 / 12:02 am

              Thanks Pat. I can get caught up in the “shoulda, coulda, woulda” syndrome! Had a bowl of Hagen Daas Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. Ice cream is not safe in my house! :-) lol!

              Liked by 1 person

              • phylor November 30, 2014 / 12:04 am

                I finally got a happy face!!! :-) :-) :-)

                Like

              • Pat November 30, 2014 / 12:16 am

                :D See and you feel much better for it – I know I would -yum!

                Like

  2. phylor November 20, 2014 / 11:49 pm

    I just rechecked the meaning of sanguine I intended — that of blood-red, related to blood, search for blood.
    You are quite right, the other meanings are cheerful, optimistic, hopeful, positive; I never thought of you as blood-thirsty!
    My narrator is definitely on the dark side of the word.
    How was your trip?

    Like

    • phylor November 25, 2014 / 6:52 pm

      Goes with a comment made further down

      Like

  3. georgeplace2013 November 20, 2014 / 9:40 pm

    For me this starts with idealism and ends with reality. I love the imperfect rose of blood and tears. Nice.

    Like

    • phylor November 20, 2014 / 11:32 pm

      Thank you.
      Mindlovemisery’s images of roses set my mind to thinking. I looked up the meaning of the colour of roses and decided red held a dramatic nature.

      Like

      • phylor November 20, 2014 / 11:33 pm

        I looked up the symbolism of roses based on Mindlovemisery’s wonderful photos of roses in the snow.

        Like

        • phylor November 20, 2014 / 11:34 pm

          The breaking of the bonds between lovers seemed to be a matter of tears and blood.
          Thank you again for the compliments.

          Like

  4. summerstommy2 November 20, 2014 / 5:39 am

    I liked this poem well done to you. I was once told I had a sanguine personality which meant nothing so I looked the word up and then thought, it would be ok if I did, I think.
    Have a good day.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

