1 is the loneliest #

{This is a continuation of My Great-Grandfather’s Sword}

I struggled to my feet; took a few shuffling steps towards the edge of the rock outcrop.

I saw the wasteland we had created stretching below me. I had never felt so alone.

To the south, a thin green line was visible on the horizon against the leaden grey sky and skittering black clouds.

To the south it is then. I had no sword belt nor frog, so I created a makeshift sash from a length of cord left behind after the battle. Shoved the ancient sword (my great-grandfather’s sword?) between the doubled cord and my body; it felt strangely light against my leg.

Painfully, I changed into my spare shirt, noticing a healing wound in my abdomen. I put all my worldly belongings into my bedroll, using the remaining cord to tie it up.

I slung my bedroll over my shoulder, and across my chest. I started the long slide and search for hand-holds down the outcrop.

The sword started to vibrate. “Our first quest,” it said, “our first quest”

Perhaps I wasn’t so alone after all.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver’s Prompt #36, Sea of Otherworldly Stars.

7 thoughts on “1 is the loneliest #

  1. summerstommy2 November 27, 2014 / 8:37 pm

    Wonderful tale, so now we await the first quest. Company is always good I think.

    Like

    • phylor November 29, 2014 / 4:10 am

      Company might be especially good if such a companion is a potentially magical, ancient sword.

      Like

  2. mindlovemisery November 27, 2014 / 7:31 am

    I am so eager to see what the first quest will be! I felt like I was right there with him the whole time.

    Like

    • phylor November 29, 2014 / 4:07 am

      Ah, time (and mlm’s menagerie’s prompts) will tell. Thanks for the compliment!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

