sparks of thankfulness

Making my breakfast, I thought of what I am thankful for: (so-far) regular, reliable  electricity.

It runs the fridge where I keep cream and butter.

It heats the toaster for my bread and boils water in the kettle for morning coffee.

Electricity provides light on dark mornings.

It turns “raw” ingredients into my breakfast foods.

It powers my lap top and, thus, creates my link to the wider world.

Electricity fuels research, “e-versations,” web sites, chat rooms, blogs, creativity.

It connects me with a special friend who patiently listens to the same questions I’ve asked and stories I’ve told a million times. Passes me virtual Kleenex. Gives me virtual hugs.

So, this crazy busy holiday season I will hopefully continue to feel gratefulness when I flick the light switch; point the remote for enlightenment, entertainment, distraction; log in to my email; listen to music.

Yes, people are hungry, cold, homeless. Die from preventable/treatable diseases. Have no source of clean drinking water. No access to jobs or to ones that pay a decent living wage.

Live in war zones (declared and undeclared). Fear for their and their family’s well-being and safety/lives. Are abused: mentally; emotionally; physically; sexually. Raped. Tortured. Imprisoned. Abandoned, rejected, sold into the sex trade.

A steady, safe supply of electricity would seemingly be at the bottom of the wants/needs list.  Electricity can make their world hum too. Lights to do homework by. Refrigeration for vaccines and other medications. Small scale, micro-loans and economies that give women a chance to be self-sufficient, or provide income for their families.

A simple thing we take for granted. A simple thing that so many don’t have access to. A simple thing that can be one of the building blocks to a better life.

Inspired by Wendy, @ Picnic With Ants’, Thanksgiving Often Forgets Those Without . . .

Thanks, Wendy, for the inspirational post! 

THANKFUL

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “sparks of thankfulness

  1. Bastet November 30, 2014 / 2:32 am

    Well said Phylor … electricity and I will add water, something we take for granted but which is not available to so many people on this planet … we must be at least thankful for these blessings … and not waste what we have even if it is in abundance.

    Like

    • phylor November 30, 2014 / 6:01 am

      You are so right. Clean drinking water is something we do take for granted. We turn on the faucet and expect something cool, clear, healthful to come out. But even in North America, with it’s overabundance of water, this resource is mismanaged and abused. Golf courses in the desert. Fracking. Chemical spills. Sinkholes created by deletion of ground water. Wastefulness. The list goes on.
      And, when we don’t “like” the quality/taste of our water, we buy the liquid resources of Fiji, New Zealand, et al. and put this into plastic drinking bottles. The rafts of debris such as that floating on the ocean can be seen from space. Bottles end up on the street or in the garbage, not being recycled into carpets, shopping bags et. al.
      Oops, I’m slipping into a rant.
      I’m sure it’s been done by way of illustration, to try and survive on the amount of water, not just potable water, that folks in drought-stricken, war-torn, or water-poor nations have access to daily.

      Like

      • Bastet November 30, 2014 / 7:17 am

        Yep … know what your talking about and can only say Amen sister it’s so true … living in Africa, and even here in parts of Italy have taught me that water cannot be taken for granted.

        Like

        • phylor December 2, 2014 / 10:50 am

          It’s such a hard thing to see how the drought has effected people — and I just view it on television, hear it on NPR or read about it online or in newspapers.
          You, having been there must have an even more intense feeling and attachment to the issue.
          I still think I should try for a few days to survive on the amount of water people in places like Africa have access to.

          Like

          • Bastet December 2, 2014 / 12:30 pm

            You seem already sensitive to the subject … I don’t think you need to try that experiment …

            Like

  2. Colline November 29, 2014 / 7:10 pm

    I am definitely thankful for electricity as the cold sets in. The heat certainly makes our days more comfortable.

    Like

  3. wendy November 29, 2014 / 12:29 pm

    I am amazed I inspired this. Wow! you give me too much credit.
    I’m thankful for you friend. and for being able to read your words.

    Like

    • phylor November 29, 2014 / 11:43 pm

      I don’t think I give you too much credit! Your post about Thanksgiving; that we can feel grateful and thankful, but we shouldn’t forget those who are hungry, homeless, struggling right here in America, as well as all around the world. How important inclusion is; an inclusion that does include everyone. And your list of things you are thankful/grateful for. These are all important points — moving away from the turkey and towards giving — and you wrote about them with passion and compassion.
      I’m thankful you’re my friend, and that we can share each other’s words.

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 November 29, 2014 / 6:41 am

    What a great post. We take so much for granted don’t we. Made me appreciate the power for similar reasons. Have a good day.

    Like

    • phylor November 29, 2014 / 11:04 am

      You always leave such encouraging comments. I’m grateful for your input on my writing!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

