a grand pretentious entrance

Wordle 37 Dec. 1

Ah, my lover, my friend

my torturer, my captor.

The party awaits

one of your grand, pretentious entrances.

I hold back my disgust as you brush

my face with your dead lips

your cold fingers encircle my neck

but for a second.

As you swagger to meet

your adorers

I sniggle, I snicker, I smuckle.

I hold back a joyous cry.

Will my poison

hasten your descent

down the main stair case?

Will there be laughter

or unease from the crowd below

as you clutch at your throat and the bannister?

You controvert, you retrobate, you fiend.

Are you dizzy yet?

Is your life spinning backward

in concentric spirals?

With each painful body-wracking convulsion,

I sense your pallor and stench of

rotting years,  so many tears.

Your feet misstep and you fumble, tumble

rolling in slow motion down the splendid

gleaming wooden stair case.

Thick,  rich carpets from exotic places

tamped down the sound of your body

as it thuds downwards.

Did you realize in those seconds

free-falling through space

how long I have hated

waited to forever maim you?

My dress rustles as I rush to your side.

He is dead, they all say, the king is dead.

Long live the queen, they all say,  long live the queen.

I regally nod my head, they bow theirs.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Wordle #37

I did this as a free write – only corrected spelling (if my spell check could find an alternative, if not I left it in phylorese). I wrote down what popped into my head. I feel like Orville Redenbacher.

Orville Redenbacher's - Gourmet Popping Corn

11 thoughts on “a grand pretentious entrance

  1. summerstommy2 December 3, 2014 / 6:38 pm

    Its the characteristic phylorese which marks your writing as so interesting. So Long live the Queen I say.

    Like

    • phylor December 4, 2014 / 10:13 pm

      Yes! Long live the Queen!

      Like

  2. wendy December 3, 2014 / 5:51 pm

    I love it. and love that it was a free write.
    many of these words have been dancing in my head recently….I’m sure you can understand why.
    I feel like the king is my monster I have been living with….ah if I could push him down those stairs….long live the queen…the warrior princess. *yes if anyone else reads this comment they will have no idea what I am talking about..haha*

    Like

    • phylor December 4, 2014 / 10:13 pm

      Feels like some sort of secret club — I know exactly (I think) what you mean!

      Like

  3. georgeplace2013 December 2, 2014 / 1:02 pm

    Dark but still a good solid story and good use of the words. Sounds like politics of some Roman era.

    Like

    • phylor December 2, 2014 / 2:39 pm

      It does. Hadn’t thought of that! And, I’ve been watching television programs on the rise and fall of the Roman Empire!
      Thank you for that connection! It’s neat when reading the poem, that people find different undercurrents. Many of which were not necessarily mine.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bastet December 2, 2014 / 2:15 am

    My oh my … this is quite a story … reminds me of something like a Dracula movie or a dark Gothic tale … cool.

    Like

    • phylor December 2, 2014 / 10:45 am

      Think I’ve been leaning to the dark side lately. Maybe it’s movies, prompts, blogs, etc. Or just my state of mind, lol.

      Like

      • Bastet December 2, 2014 / 12:27 pm

        Could be the winter for that matter .. some writers do work out their dark side writing … Neil Gaiman for example …

        Like

        • phylor December 2, 2014 / 2:36 pm

          I have two more posts just about ready: Won and the Grimm fairy tale as an inspiration. Of course, spending time with the Brothers doesn’t leave me in a cheery mood. I preferred Mother Goose, or British books like The Book for Boys and The Book for Girls. Later, tho, I would sneak one of the murder mysteries Mom had brought home from the library into my room. Perhaps it’s not so strange I’m gothic after all! (Not a Goth).

          Like

          • Bastet December 3, 2014 / 2:06 am

            Lol … I used to love the Grimm brothers and like reading ghost stories and mysteries etc. The rub is I’m just not good at writing them … go figure. I admire someone who can write Gothic … maybe envy is the better word ;-)

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

