two musings on “bluff”

Yoshiyuki Iwase 37

Photo Credits: Yoshiyuki Iwase

Strip me naked

naked to the bone

sculpt me as you see me

from liquid silver and sea foam

me, so imperfect in your sight

so flawed

remake me with molten metal

and a kiss

~ * ~* ~* ~ * ~ * ~

I watch for flotsam and jetsam

of life upon the sea

weathered sailors

chests of gold

barrels of wheat

kegs of wine/port

all smash the same

all crash same

against the bluff

Inspired by Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge, Bluff

10 thoughts on “two musings on “bluff”

  1. Blake December 8, 2014 / 3:20 pm

    I especially like the end to the first poem –
    “remake me with molten metal
    and a kiss”

    It’s such a striking image, so mysterious, that it might be sinister and hopeful at the same time.

    Like

    • phylor December 8, 2014 / 11:16 pm

      Thank you Blake. I like your interpretation of the last line; it makes for an interesting stanza II.

      Like

  2. wendy December 8, 2014 / 1:05 pm

    your writing amazes me. just amazes me.

    Like

    • phylor December 8, 2014 / 11:16 pm

      Blushing — thank you for the continuing support!

      Like

  3. georgeplace2013 December 6, 2014 / 9:16 pm

    from liquid silver and sea foam… beautiful phrase. I like the first poem esp. but appreciate the message in the second poem, too.

    Like

    • phylor December 5, 2014 / 3:07 pm

      Thanks Colline. I want to say how wonderful your posts on the parade have been! Colourful, fun, brought me back to my childhood when we wen to the Toronto’s and Ottawa’s winter parades! The pictures are marvelous!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Colline December 5, 2014 / 6:54 pm

        Thank you Phylor. I am glad they brought back such wonderful memories.

        Like

  4. Bastet December 5, 2014 / 2:02 am

    I like how you’ve seen the woman in the second poem as a sort of mermaid …. and the first poem is pure sensuality … beautifully done!

    Like

    • phylor December 5, 2014 / 2:40 am

      https://phylor.wordpress.com/2014/12/05/fur-fiction/
      is the link to my part of the triptych. As you will see, still can’t colour inside the lines. I think I made the right links in the right places. Love to do something like that again. Who knows, I might even paint INSIDE the lines, lol.
      I like the image of a mermaid. I hadn’t thought of her as that, but it really does work. Thanks for the image. Yes, the first is pure sensuality and I’m glad that flowed through.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

