& so begins the end

 

John Jay Glenn.  Strict Lord Death Bids Them to Dance.  CC BY NC SA 2.0.

& so begins the end

prophesies (be)come truth

one single shaft of light

carried by winged messengers

to the east

to crashing waves

sea glass, agates, bones

& so begins the end

mists inside crystal ball part

apocalyptic rider

white horse of

pestilence and plague so

evilly and gleefully spread

“Bring out your dead”

& so begins the end

tarot reader sees death upon the spread of cards

black horse awaits

the arrival of its master

to lay waste to fields

shrivel vegetation

starve the population

& so begins the end

blooded bruised moon eclipsed by blackened hardened sun

red horse with rider shrieking

tramples countryside

trail of blood and battle cries

tosses fallen knight as

token to comrade white

& so begins the end

the 4 riders shall scourge the earth

behold the pale horse

he is behind you now

Death knows ways

to move outside the frame

and into your room 

& so is the end

funeral a sea of light, eulogies, & tears

Inspired by John Jay Glenn. Strict Lord Death Bids Them to Dance

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie’s  Fairy Tale # 36, Strict Lord Death monitored by Jen of Blog it or Lose it for Anja .

11 thoughts on “& so begins the end

  1. phylor December 9, 2014 / 10:19 am

    Thanks.
    I am slow on my comments. There is a string thru this that Strict Lord Bids Them to Dance reminds me of Hieronymus Bosch’s “Garden of Earthly Delights” which of course, for me, leads down the path to Revelations and the four horsemen which to me, fit the imagery of the painting.

    Like

    • phylor December 9, 2014 / 10:20 am

      Gremlins again. Please note that this comment should be below summertommy2’s comment. I am having difficulty today getting the last comment not to be the first.

      Like

  2. Bastet December 9, 2014 / 3:50 am

    Wow … the four riders upon us … wonderfully dark poem and as Summerstommy says … reminds me of the apocalypse as read in the bible .. but also other stories I’ve read, like American Gods and some of Pratchett’s books … loved it!

    Like

    • phylor December 9, 2014 / 10:11 am

      Thank you. Guess I was in an apocalyptic mood! As I commented to J., the painting so reminded me of Hieronymus Bosch’s “Garden of Earthly Delights.” From thence came the 4 horsemen! (I have to admit I had to go to Wikipedia to make sure I had them right, lol. It’s not good to mention them with the wrong moniker!)

      Like

      • Bastet December 10, 2014 / 3:41 am

        Not necessarily you feeling apocalyptic, perhaps the words 4 horsemen just brings biblical thoughts to me … I’m popping by to see that painting on Wikipedia!

        Like

  3. J December 7, 2014 / 2:18 am

    Has a feel that is very prophetic – with tinges of Jim Morrison too. Very nicely done!

    Like

    • phylor December 7, 2014 / 7:25 am

      Thanks L. I’ve always been fascinated by Hieronymus Bosch’s “Garden of Earthly Delights” and John Jay Glen’s “Strict Lord Bids Them to Dance” reminded me of that painting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • phylor December 7, 2014 / 7:26 am

        oops, should be J, my apologies!

        Like

      • J December 7, 2014 / 1:50 pm

        It IS like Bosch now that you mention it….!

        Like

  4. summerstommy2 December 6, 2014 / 5:02 pm

    There’s a very biblical feel about this and I like that you have taken that approach, so well done.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

