desert

I swelter as the scorpion skittles cross the sand.

I take my boots off to ventilate my feet. Arid air with stinging sand does no good.

Without water, my body begins to shrink. Opening my mouth to call, to scream sucks out the salvia.

Here am I, like a Peanuts character, with a cactus as my only companion.

Stretching beyond vision, from horizon to horizon, all is desiccated, all is desert.

I drumbled to this spot, lured by the spectrum of light and imagination. The mirage is but a blink of the eye. A delitescent oasis.

The water in my canteen is vile. The water in my canteen is sand.

A tiny bead of sweat, the only water in a dried-up world, forms on my forehead.

I am bankrupt of spirit, of energy of hope. Soon I shall be like the skeleton who leans against the cactus next to mine.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle #40.

Bastet and I have talked of different ways to approach the wordle words. This is my first attempt at this wordle word construction.

24 thoughts on “desert

  1. Bastet December 28, 2014 / 5:32 am

    You definitely need a Sopwith Camel to the rescue! Well written .. can I say I enjoyed it??? Seems out of place in such a dire situation!

    Like

    • phylor December 28, 2014 / 4:04 pm

      Oh, it’s alright to enjoy dire. I’ve “liked” pieces that were very dark.

      Like

      • Bastet December 29, 2014 / 3:17 am

        We should have a qualified like button … like the style and how the subject is handled … sorry for the woe.

        Like

        • phylor December 29, 2014 / 11:49 am

          Good idea: dislike content like writing skills

          Like

          • Bastet December 30, 2014 / 1:33 am

            hmmm … not quite sure I understood your comment …

            Like

            • phylor December 30, 2014 / 3:23 am

              oops — poor communication on my part.
              I was trying to say I agreed with your idea that you can dislike the circumstances about which someone is writing, but like the way in which the person voiced the experience. I thought it would be a good addition to the single like button, especially when “like” seems inappropriate.
              Some days, my body wakes up long before my brain does.

              Like

  2. julespaige December 23, 2014 / 10:52 am

    Your first… you jest. Masterfully written. There are so many approaches.
    I tease that the words just jump into place. But perhaps that is how it is for me?
    Words on a page tell a tale… yet the writer lives on.
    Perhaps if the scorpion offered a sting the end would come sooner… for the character…
    unless Snoopy donned in his aviator gear came to the rescue?

    I used the list, but also combined two prompts for this piece :)
    http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2014/12/22/a-magical-tree-a-haibun-12-22-for-mlm-fairytale-39-and-wordle-40/

    Like

    • phylor December 26, 2014 / 11:26 pm

      First having a date with Mr. Linky; usually, I post late. I should have been more clear! I love the idea of Snoopy flying to the rescue in his sopwith camel!

      Like

      • julespaige December 26, 2014 / 11:34 pm

        Ah, Mr. Linky or any of the different linking things…
        always a challenge.
        It took me a while to get ‘hooked’ up.
        Each link system plays slightly differently.
        If I can help e-mail me… Not that I’ll be a big help :)
        But you’ll get the hand of it.

        Like

        • phylor December 28, 2014 / 4:11 pm

          Thanks for the offer!
          Although I some what “get” technology, it always “gets” me! I think I was made for the 19th century.

          The problem I have, for which I do not think there is a solution, is unlinking if I have, by mistake, linked to the wrong post, or the wrong place.

          Like

          • julespaige December 28, 2014 / 7:02 pm

            That is a challenge. I think the host has to take away.
            Though some link systems do give you the option to delete. I am always afraid of deleting the wrong one.
            And since I’m working off of three (or four) different blogs I have to also be aware and careful where I copy and past my ‘draft’ from my word program into the correct blog and then get the correct link. I have no clue as to how that short link thingy works…yet.

            And B and WP play differently with copied links. Both are different of how you can change the name of the link. WP has to take it in code and B will take it the short piece from my writing program.

            Someone else gave me the code to shorten links (if you want you put a link in as a single word or title) and I still had to play with it before I figured it out.

            Good luck :)

            Like

            • phylor December 29, 2014 / 1:00 am

              Thanks! You have a lot to keep straight! I have 1 active, 1 semi active and 1 I should make active blogs both on WP.
              When I first started blogging, WP seemed easier. I have a blog template (part of my system) that I use for composing then post as a draft to my blog. I’m still trying to figure out WP’s new dashboard, and find myself reverting to the “classic” version!
              I used to know some code, but it’s been awhile. That might help with some of the issues.
              Wishing you all the best in 2015!

              Like

              • julespaige December 29, 2014 / 9:37 am

                When I get home or have a few more than just a couple of moments…
                I’ll e-mail you that bit of shrinky code.
                I don’t like the new WP Editor.
                I use the old one because I like to copy my stuff from my own documents to the text option because then there is less line space.

                I don’t even want to look at the new WP edit options. I have enough to remember with the old. Thankfully it lets you go back to the old.

                Best to you. Time for breakfast. …

                Like

                • phylor December 29, 2014 / 11:46 am

                  The shrinky code sounds interesting. No rush. Whenever you get a chance.
                  The new WP editor, I think, is supposed to have more of a smartphone or tablet feel. But then I don’t have a smart phone, nor tablet, lol.

                  Like

  3. kaykuala h December 22, 2014 / 8:58 pm

    Very depressing! When it comes to throes of disaster one can only think of the impending consequences if not rescued. Must have been terrible to be caught in such a situation! Great lines phylor!

    Hank

    Like

    • phylor December 23, 2014 / 11:07 am

      Thanks. I’m glad I was able to convey the sense of desperation the situation created, despite the lack of a beginning of a beginning nor an end!

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 December 22, 2014 / 5:12 am

    I like how you have gone about the task. Lovely how you rounded out the ending, even with such a dry mouth I am sure.

    Like

    • phylor December 22, 2014 / 9:56 am

      Definitely! I had to get some of my filtered water out of the fridge!
      We were in a desert-like area of Oregon, and literately, when you opened your mouth, your saliva disappeared. I don’t eat peanut butter, but hubby said that was the feeling — like your tongue was stuck to the roof of your mouth from your pb&j!

      Like

  5. C.C. December 22, 2014 / 3:41 am

    I like the construction and ‘a delitescent oasis’ is such a great descriptive use of the wordle word.

    Like

    • phylor December 22, 2014 / 9:53 am

      It’s interesting to try and use the wordle words in a certain pattern, and it does bring to mind the shimmering water on the desert horizon! At least I hope it did — and I was right, lol.
      Thanks for the compliment!

      Like

  6. Suzanne December 22, 2014 / 2:48 am

    Oh dear – I hope you find water soon :)

    Like

    • phylor December 22, 2014 / 9:52 am

      It can rain in the desert. Perhaps this is one of those (un)reality shows, and the camera crew will hand me a cold Poland Springs, or other bottled water.
      Thanks for your concern!

      Like

    • phylor December 22, 2014 / 9:50 am

      No, not at all! That’s the image that came to mind when I was writing the piece. That makes you no more evil than I am, lol!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

